We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unpretentious and fine small hotel near Hearst Castle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Morgan at San Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and fine small hotel near Hearst Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is about halfway between wine country and LA on route 1, and very close to Hearst Castle. The rooms were quite spacious and really nice; ours included a gas fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, the shower hot and strong, and the staff excellent and helpful; the receptionist even helped me print out some directions using her computer at the front desk! The complimentary breakfast was fine. The WiFi access was free, but very slow (the hotel apologizes for that), as the area is remote. It is a short walk from the ocean, and it is pleasant to walk there in the early evening and morning. And the cost was very modest!

Room Tip: No elevator, so rooms on the second floor require you to carry your bags up 16 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogaman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    370
    196
    81
    34
See reviews for
273
405
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to San Jose so we could visit Hearst Castle. I checked the hotel out on trip advisor and thought it looked good for the price! We arrived late afternoon and were given our key to a ground floor room just off reception. The room was enormous, the bed huge, the bathroom was great! There was a fridge and coffee machine in the room. We drove to Hearst Castle to book a tour for the next morning and then we returned to The Morgan and were recommended to eat at the Cavalier restaurant along the road. Good choice, the food was excellent. We returned to the hotel and went to bed early as we had an early start in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast started at 7am (included in the room price) it was a continental breakfast, there was a good choice of cereal, yoghurt, toast, muffins and waffles if you wanted to make them and fruit. Coffee was good and there was hot tea for my husband. I would recommend this hotel for a short break. The pool looked great but we did not stay long enough to use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

No air conditioning. Had to leave window open that opened up to first floor parking lot. When I requested a second floor room I was told I would be charged for a suite. Not cool. Should be able to change to a room on another floor where you feel safe.

Very nice continental breakfast.

If I had it to do over, we would have stayed in morrow bay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Liz S.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay at The Morgan. I am please that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast while you were here.

I do apologize that you were not comfortable with your room. We have several different room types that are at different rates, however, I apologize that you were not offered a complimentary upgrade if we had rooms available. Although we are located in an very safe rural community, we never want our guests to feel unsafe or uncomfortable with their room.

Your recommendation of Morro Bay as an alternative destination is another wonderful location, Morro Bay is a lovely town 25 miles to the South of San Simeon.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed with husband and kids overnight on way to San Diego... Room was good size and the fire was a nice touch but wish we turned it off earlier as we roasted half the night. The lighting seems very dim, would have been nice to have more lights. Breakfast was simple but a good start to the day. Great staff @ reception. If you have a room on the second floor you will have to carry your bags up the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely/Interesting room/common area design, gas fireplace, clean, good continental breakfast, free, included hard-boiled eggs … people were playing board games when we arrived. Looks like a nice place to stay a couple days in order to visit the Hearst Castle and surrounding area. Inexpensive.

Room Tip: Second floor so you can open the windows for fresh "sleeping" air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JudiFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Tasteful & classy for that rate. I was impressed with the staff and the customer service we recieved. The room was wonderful - second floor in the second building. We were on the ocean side, 3 bay windows that opened, a ceiling fan, a gas fireplace & 2 very comfortable queen beds. There's a small fridge, but no microwave in the room. The Mexican restaurant between the main building & the second building was great. We did take out. Crab tacos - exceptionally good. The weather was amazing so we left the windows open all night. There are buildings between the hotel & the beach, but you can still see the ocean. The sound of the waves was wonderful.

Breakfast buffet in the morning was in the main lobby. Small area, croweded with guests, but I took a tray back to our room. Basic breakfast, but nice selection.

We stayed the night after Christmas so we could go to the Castle the next morning. Great location. I did a survey emailed to me by the Morgan after our stay & mentioned that there is no elevator in that second building & lugging our bags up one fairly short flight of stairs was unexpected. The manager emailed me back personally & apologized for not having someone available to help with the bags. I was impressed & will stay again if we're in that area. Next time we'll stay 2 nights!

Green Features: They seemed to be actively working to use green practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special about this hotel . It was clean and tidy rooms where dated but comfortable . The price was right . They through in a continental breakfast which is also ok . In all honesty all the hotels and inns in San Simenon are just ok . I suggest stay in nearby Cambria it has much more to offer and is still near the castle .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing