We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Morgan at San Simeon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$64
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort(San Simeon)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
$47
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
$59
$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$140
$129
Oceanpoint Ranch
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveler rating
218
382
205
84
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
382
205
84
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe mexican restauranthard boiled eggsyogurthearst castledown the roadelephant sealsocean viewheart castlebeds were comfortablepaso roblesstayed one nightcentral coastshort drivebig surmoonstone beachroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 925 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very large and confortable room with a super bathroom. Complementary breakfast in the average served just in front of the small swimming pool.
It's a good place to stop over the night during the road trip between Los Angeles and San Francisco, just few miles from the Castle and not so far from the south entrance of Big Sur (definitively the best and wild part of that costline). Good guestbook recommendations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incallitiviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very nice room with gas fireplace. Open the window and hear the sound of the Pacific Ocean waves crashing on the beach. Also, a short drive on the service road leads to the beach to watch the sunset and dinner at the Cavalier Restaurant was excellent for the price.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the fireplace
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel- good bed! We asked for upstairs room to see ocean but trees were in the way .. However we did hear ocean all night which was nice and I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing that on the ground floor. Becky at front office was a sweetheart and very helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a last minute reservation so our choices were limited for August tourist season. We had planned to drive from San Francisco to the LA area and decided to stop at Hearst Castle on the way. We figured the best way to do this would be to stay overnight nearby and do the Castle first thing in the morning. It was a little more than I wanted to spend for one night but some of the other choices were sold out or too far away.

The hotel has 2 bldgs and we were assigned to a room in the other bldg. I knew that they didn't have elevators so I asked for a ground floor room. It was a very nice room. No AC but fans but we didn't need it. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. There was a dressing table just outside the bathroom so that helped w/ getting ready in the morning. There were overpriced snacks right there on the table to tempt you too!

In the hallway, they had a book of menus from restaurants located in the strip mall-type set-up on this road. There were several hotels and restaurants on this road which you can walk to. The breakfast was fine, nothing really stands out. We didn't use the pool. There was a plaza across the highway w/ further dining options and some souvenir-type shops.

It was a very nice hotel, but a little pricey. Would stay there again if no other options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the better looking hotels/motels in the area, I thought a room would be too pricey but we stopped in anyway at about 5:30 at night and got a choice of rooms. We took downstairs. The front desk was very helpful and discounted our room when we discovered the fireplace didn't work. I see someone commented about the pool looking as if it had been abandoned but it was clean and well lit. I'm not sure a guest would really need it when you've got the beach and Hearst castle right there. A very quiet, comfy place, besutifully decorated and maintained.

Room Tip: No elevators to the second floor so you older folk choose a downstairs room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pd1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews