We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a last minute reservation so our choices were limited for August tourist season. We had planned to drive from San Francisco to the LA area and decided to stop at Hearst Castle on the way. We figured the best way to do this would be to stay overnight nearby and do the Castle first thing in the morning. It was a little more than I wanted to spend for one night but some of the other choices were sold out or too far away.

The hotel has 2 bldgs and we were assigned to a room in the other bldg. I knew that they didn't have elevators so I asked for a ground floor room. It was a very nice room. No AC but fans but we didn't need it. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. There was a dressing table just outside the bathroom so that helped w/ getting ready in the morning. There were overpriced snacks right there on the table to tempt you too!

In the hallway, they had a book of menus from restaurants located in the strip mall-type set-up on this road. There were several hotels and restaurants on this road which you can walk to. The breakfast was fine, nothing really stands out. We didn't use the pool. There was a plaza across the highway w/ further dining options and some souvenir-type shops.

It was a very nice hotel, but a little pricey. Would stay there again if no other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    354
    189
    75
    33
See reviews for
259
391
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the better looking hotels/motels in the area, I thought a room would be too pricey but we stopped in anyway at about 5:30 at night and got a choice of rooms. We took downstairs. The front desk was very helpful and discounted our room when we discovered the fireplace didn't work. I see someone commented about the pool looking as if it had been abandoned but it was clean and well lit. I'm not sure a guest would really need it when you've got the beach and Hearst castle right there. A very quiet, comfy place, besutifully decorated and maintained.

Room Tip: No elevators to the second floor so you older folk choose a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pd1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thankyou to all the staff at The Morgan. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel is stunning and to go into the beautiful KING room with real glasses and real glass cups to make yor tea or coffee. The room has just georgous decor with everything spotless.The staff bend over backwards to help with anything and terrific restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is great as well. Well done The Morgan. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a king room. We were on main road side but there was no noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no airconditioning, but it is not needed as there is a beautiful sea breeze.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very happy with our 2 night stay at The Morgan. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly; the room was large, clean and inviting (with a fireplace too); breakfast was good though not exceptional; and the location was superb! Not only is this hotel close to the Hearst Castle, it is also quite close (a few easy-to-drive miles) to the elephant seal rookery! We were able to visit the rookery 3 times (morning was definitely the BEST time for photographic lighting and fewer people). The staff has done a beautiful job selecting paint colors and room furnishings; it is also very clean. Our room faced the main road, so you could hear the traffic ~ though it was not objectionable. After leaving a nightmare stay at another hotel in Monterey, we thought we died and went to heaven when we checked into The Morgan.

One suggestion I would make to the hotel is to begin the continental breakfast service at 7 am (rather than 7:30). The first movie at the Hearst Castle begins at 8:15 am. It is essential that visitors wishing to see the movie arrive at their visitor's center by 8:00am. We had to eat on the run so that we could see the movie at 8:15 and then begin our 3 previously paid-for tours.

I would happily stay at The Morgan again!

Room Tip: A room away from the main street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

the staff is not helpful, no elevator (or help) to take you to the first floor.
the swimming pool, in front of the lobby looks abandoned.
Breakfast is ok .
Only 10 minutes drive to Hearst Castle.
Nice mexican restaurant a few steps away.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on first floor with sea view (if you can carry your suitcases). We had a renovated da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The lobby looks nice, and some rooms do have a view, but the following is a review for a room I got that faced the PCH (booked through Hotwire).

My key points:
- rooms are, but bathroom was very dark, dingy, and dated. Definitely needed a makeover.
- with the windows shut, it was still possible to hear cars outside. I woke up in the morning with sounds of cars joining the PCH from all the lodging next to The Morgan
- the hotel is split into two buildings. The pool is in the main building. It's about 2-3 minutes walk outside between the two. Not great in winter if using pool or for breakfast.
- the heating/cooling control didn't work in the room. I was too tired so just went to sleep, and woke up freezing cold
- breakfast was ok. Pastries were nice, the ice cold hard boiled egg not so much. Would have been nice to have a few slices of cheese or ham.
- night receptionist was not friendly at all and seemed like she was bothered checking guests in. The morning receptionist was very cheerful and friendly. So it's a specific staff issue here.
- there's a Mexican restaurant right next to the hotel, which is convenient
- free wifi was good and acceptably fast

Would I stay here again? Probably not - will give one of the others a try on that strip of San Simeon. Unless it was cheap, like $50 a night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear London Insider,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comprehensive review from your recent stay at The Morgan. I am sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations. I am disappointed that our staff did not make you feel welcomed at check in. May I inquire what your date of arrival was? (gm@hotel-morgan.com) I would like to make the necessary adjustments to our staff. I am very pleased that our morning staff greeted you with enthusiasm!
I apologize that the heating control was not in working order and I am sorry if you spent an uncomfortable and cold night. I wish we could have gotten that repaired for your during your stay so you could have been more comfortable.
Thank you for all your valuable feedback!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 as we were due to visit Hearst Castle as part of our road trip.
Our main reason for choosing this hotel is that we stayed here 3 years ago on another road trip and my wife was happy with the hotel the first time so had no hesitation saying she wanted to return as the rooms were large, clean and most importantly for her, had comfortable beds.
The continental breakfast seemed to have a slightly smaller selection of items to choose from but is still more than adequate if you want a light breakfast.
The Morgan doesn't have restaurant and all the ones nearby close quite early so make sure you've checked in by early evening. On our previous trip we tried the Mexican restaurant next door but it had stopped serving, so dined at the Sunrise Restaurant in the Motel 6 across the road. The food there is reasonably priced and good quality and so we decided to go back
and were not disappointed. We did notice several people arrive around 9pm only to be told they were closed so be aware restaurants close early in San Simeon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel
Address: 9135 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon - A Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing