We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Found a deal on Living Social for this hotel. The deluxe queen room is very comfortable. We are upstairs and the room seems a little warm, but that is a good excuse to open the windows and listen to the ocean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. For $25.00 more a night per dog, I can come back with my dogs.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 924 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm visiting this hotel with a friend and it is lovely! We are in the second part, down the way, and the room is nice with a fire place and a beautiful view out the window. I wish the pillows were higher quality, but the mattress is comfortable. The bathroom is nice and spacious and we have four bath sized towels! Usually, there are only three. I don't know why hotels only put three, but I'm happy there are four here! Nice architecture and art throughout the building as well. I will be back with my dog as they are pet friendly, too.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Cyndee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is very well located for Hearst Castle and heading along the Pacific Coast. It is cosy with spacious and comfortable rooms. The fireplace was a great bonus in the middle of December. The breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Watkins_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Similar to some of the reviewers on this hotel I bought a deal from one of the social network sites. The hotel is easy to find, it's near restaurants and within walking distance to the beach. We enjoyed our stay at the Morgan and the staff were nice. It's too bad that the hotel is located near Hwy 1 instead of the beach which means there's no view. The room was clean and nicely decorated with a fire place. I didn't realize the hotel is named after Julia Morgan, the designer/architect of Hearst Castle. Our deal include free breakfast and it's the very basic breakfast. There's a heated swimming pool and it faces the parking lot and the lobby.

I think the atmosphere at the hotel is more suitable for business than a romantic getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was most helpful in giving directions to nearby Hearst Castle and the elephant seal rookery. The complimentary breakfast made a nice start to the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Husband and I enjoyed a four day stay at The Morgan this past week. Amazing newly remodeled boutique hotel. Staff was outstanding and very friendly. Breakfast was scrumptous and perfect to get going in the morning. Loved the fireplace in the room to keep warm. Most comfortable beds...slept like babies. Most all motels in the area are simply motels. The Morgan is NOT a motel by any means. It is definitely a cut above the rest. Cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I purchased a Living Social Deal & was able to stay at this hotel for $99/night plus a free bottle of wine. I'm glad that is all I paid. This hotel is OK - that is all. It is definitely better then a Motel 6 but not a Best Western. Decorating is nice & the fireplace in the rooms are a plus. Also - If you want to go to Cambria & Hearst, this location is fantastic. It's about 3 minutes from the castle, 5 minutes from the elephant Seals, & 5 minutes from Cambria. So overall, not bad but definitely would not pay more then $99. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,902 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,990 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $126 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing