We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Morgan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hemet
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Morgan”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There is history here! The Morgan was designed by the same architect who worked with William Randolph Hearst on the Hearst Castle down the road. If you are looking for a cookie cutter motel this is not the place for you. If you are looking for character and interesting design this is it. The windows could use a little cleaning and repair so they open and close easily. Breakfast was certainly adequate if not inspired. Coffee was good, bagel selection was OK and pastries looked good and fresh. This was our second stay here and we will stay again when in the area. The front desk people were very nice and the lady in the breakfast room was very helpful. All and all a pretty great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nangal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    378
    203
    82
    35
See reviews for
286
412
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Morgan provided us with a fantastic and convenient place to stay on our way from LA to San Francisco. The staff were helpful and the check in and out process was a breeze. There was ample parking for guests.
The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Included continental breakfast the next morning was a bonus (cereal, bagels, coffee/tea).
We had dinner that night in Cambria, about 5 mins drive down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J80M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

On arrival , the front desk were fabulous, helping me to resolve a problem from earlier in the day during our tour. We decided to upgrade to a suite, which we were very pleased with. The furniture was a little tired but the bed was extremely comfortable and we had plenty of space. ( the sofa was a little smelly , could do with a good clean ) . We had great views from the room. Breakfast is OK, no hot food included but you can make toasted bagels with cream cheese and the coffee was good :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel (family of 4) in a twin queen room for 1 night. The room was clean and of a good size. We were upstairs in the annexe building and air conditioning would have been good, I would not want to be there in the middle of summer. The continental breakfast in the main building provided a reasonable selection of items

The vibe in the main hotel felt better than in the annexe and if I was staying for more than 1 night I would prefer to be in the main building to take advantage of the wine available in the lobby.

For 4 people, including breakfast the rate provided good value for money (decor was a little dated) and I would stay ther again if in the area

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PJH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A very nice hotel (motel) in San Simeon just 3 miles from Hearst Castle. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable. We were given a Handicap room and the bathroom sink is very cramped and not a good design with its location and ease of use. We looked at a "normal" room and the bathroom was fine. They serve a nice continental breakfast and they have a heated pool. The staff was very friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Described as a boutique hotel, this facility suffers from less than minimum housekeeping , less than acceptable maintenance and a complete failure to take advantage of a spectacular location with great potential. No elevator in a 2 story north annex; flies and carcasses of flies that have tenant rights and an overall poor experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LSJUouimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Calimesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Morgan Hotel in San Simeon. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs. The room was very nice & the continental breakfast was good. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,748 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing