We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Launching Pad for Hearst Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is certainly the second best hotel in San Simeon after the Best Western. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the value is good. Nothing spectacular, mind you, but very good (thus, four stars and not five). The breakfast was satisfactory and the free wi-fi was nice to have. I appreciated the attempt at decorating with a Julia Morgan theme, including old drawings and photos in the rooms and hallways. This is a good place to stay before or after you make your trip to Hearst Castle. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 915 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way from LA to San Francisco. Easy check inn and our room was on the ground floor which was good for luggage as there is no lift at this hotel. The room is nicely decorated and very clean. We stayed in a two queen bed room as we were a family of four. Suitable for overnight. Breakfast was simple but filling. (continental). We went up the road for dinner as I don't think there is any dinner service within the hotel. The stay was pleasant for our overnight stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank klg239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel when visited the west coast. It is a good hotel, although it DOESNT HAVE AN ELEVATOR, so if you have luggage this could be a hassle. Breakfast is OK, not more than that.
Other than that its a good value for money.
Booked for 85$/night on hotwire.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank YossiRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

after looking at all the other choices close to Hearst Castle we finally settled on this property based on reviews and photos on this and other travel sites we got a last minute deal on the hotel's website our first room in the main building looked exactly like the photos but a little worn around the edges and had a cracked window overlooking the rear parking lot we got moved to the other building and had a much larger room with an ocean view and although the hotel is in two old buildings it did get a passable boutique style make over which made our one night pleasantly surprising! I wouldn't suggest anyone have high expectations of the restaurants or accommodations in this area

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here one night on or way from LA to San Francisco. We arrived late and left the following morning to continue, so we did not have time to enjoy all the facilities in this hotel. We found the room we booked (with fire place) spacious and the automatic fireplace was nice (since it can be cold so direct at the ocean). The only comment we have is that the couch was not in front of the fireplace, and since it is a couch, you are limited in the possibilities (and effort you want to put in moving it). Maybe 2 seats would be nicer (and more flexible)

The only real comment is about breakfast. The room comes with complementary breakfast, which is ok, but the breakfast room is a little on the small side. So when everyone comes around 9, the room is overcrowded.

In the end I do recommend this hotel, based on the nice beds, spacious room, free WiFi, etc. A lot of value for money at this place I would say.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We got a last minute room here after spending an awful night at the San Simeon lodge. For the same price as the dirty crappy San Simeon we got a large, clean, spacious renovated room with great service and breakfast included!! It's a great place your your money. We will stay here again when we come to this area!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colombiafeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our road trip up to Oregon. We arrived late at night but the gentleman that was working the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The walls were thin as we could hear other visitor's televisions and all of the doors opening and closing, which also kept me on pins and needles every time our toddler let out a whimper. For one night it was okay but it wouldn't have worked if we were staying several nights. We did enjoy the continental breakfast. It was served in a cute dining area, offering coffee that actually wasn't watery, cold cereal, oatmeal, bagels and cream cheese, pastries and yogurt. We showed up pretty late and there was still a good selection of all of the foods. Despite the thin walls, I would say that we had a pretty good stay. Oh, and make sure to check out the elephant seals that come to visit about 8 miles up the coast. It was really a cool thing to witness.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leashygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,803 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
470 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
542 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,327 reviews
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $118 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing