We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Cavalier Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were staying just over the road, so took a short walk to this nice looking restaurant. We had to wait 30 minutes for a table but the wait was worth it. Our waitress was very friendly and we did not feel rushed at all. We both enjoyed a meal of a steak and a salad. The portions are big and the dishes are well priced. We liked it so much we booked there again the following night! If you are in the area this restaurant is a must :o)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    285
    146
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food and service was exceptional. There was a wait for a table but it was worth the wait. The best thing was it was located right on the property so we were able to eat and still catch he best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant was outstanding”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We made reservations as the place was extremely busy - had to wait a few minutes after our reservation time, but the wait was worth it. Four of us for dinner and we were all very pleased. The prices were reasonable as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected charm, Excellent Service, Magnificent meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After visiting Hearst Castle we headed south but hunger overcame us, could have been the expanse of the dinning room at the Castle, or seeing all the free roaming cattle. We pulled off the highway and walked in. There was a 20-30 minute wait, we sensed a tidy restaurant, so we signed up.

Our wait was pleasant with international tourists, adding to the environment. After being seated, we had rapid drink service, and all our questions were answered. Our server, Jorge, brought a taste of the soup for me to test for ingredients, he carefully reviewed food allergies and helped us decide on our order. My husband said his steak was the best he has had in years, all the vegetables were tasty, and not soggy (which we've found in late evening dinner rush). We shared a brilliant desert.

We came away feeling so smug to have found this delightful restaurant all on our own, but want to recommend it highly to those looking for a very pleasant experience and satisfying meal.

I don't know if they take reservations, and I look forward to trying them for breakfast on another trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S and D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having read a previous TA review, I was expecting a Little Chef experience (UK readers will know what this implies). However, we found this to be a great, inexpensive restaurant ($49 for two comprising main course with included appetizer and a beer/ glass of house wine) with a wide menu choice and rapid, yet attentive service.
Probably not worth a detour for but, as we were staying at the adjacent motel, it was perfect for what we needed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Epicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cavalier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing