We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Spot”

El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Morro Bay, California
1 review
“Destination Spot”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant is one of our farvorite destination spots when we take the folks (ages 89 & 105) for a weekly drive and lunch. Bob & Evelyn are wonderful hosts. We love the gardens and often see interesting birds and even a gopher! We are never disappointed in the food or service. Evelyn displays her beautiful paintings of local scenes. Our recent guests requested we go to the "little Mexican restaurant in San Simeon". We will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    141
    85
    40
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and great location”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Mexican food at El Chorlito was excellent . The free chips and salsa was excellent. I had a chile relleno was excellent and my wife had cheeze enchiladas, also good. The server was nice and helpful; but was inattentive to us as well as to another couple as so we just sat there waiting. We were there at a time when maybe they were ready for a siesta - about 2 pm, so maybe they were just done. Otherwise I would have happily given a 5 to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Crab tacos were fantastic. We stayed next door at the Morgan & did take out for dinner from El Chorlito. Very crowded, but take out worked great for us.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sydnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The food was great! Their margaritas were fabulous. The server was very patient with our larger group. We will return again in the near future, when the Mexican food bug bites.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgolowka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed in San Simeon as a stopover from a long drive and walked from our hotel to El Chorlito.
Great large meals, varied menu with some unique variations (for us anyway), drinks were cheap.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank qldr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing