We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”

Elephant Seal Rookery
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after our tour of the Hearst Castle and it was a highlight of our west coast trip. Free parking! Go down the walkway so you get to see more of the seals. They are spread out all over the beach. There are a lot of people visiting, but the seals don't seem to care.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lola2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,760
    409
    50
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
872 reviews
504 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Say Hello to the Gentle Giants!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The colony of Elephant Seals of San Simeon is a sight to watch. This species of California seals is huge - in fact of elephantine proportions and hence, the name Elephant Seal. It is a sight indeed to see these huge creatures all over the beach and nearby rocky areas, basking in the sun, seemingly without a care in the world. Visitors to this area must say 'Hello' to the Gentle Giants!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-O-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So close to giant elephant seal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

It is a must if you like wild animal!
The national park is very well developed which you can park you car and walk to the site!
It is an unique place to see the northern elephant seals which is very close for us to view their life there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixKaLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spend some quality time with the seals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Pull int the parking lot in PCH 1 and have a free visit with the seals. View the seals from an observation point that provides great views. There are information boards, and very knowledgeable "Friends of the Elephant Seals" docents who are full of in-depth seal facts! There is a donation box if you choose to give. There was no pressure whatsoever.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveALongWeekEndMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband & I did the PCH from San Diego to San Fran. The Elephant Seal Rookery was one of my favorite spots along the way! We actually stopped around 2:30pm one day, and the seals weren't doing to much of anything, except throwing sand on their backs. However, the next day we stopped at 9am and I could have watched them for hours! They were all getting out of the water, they were playing with each other, and overall adorable. Great spot for kids too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crtny2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Seal Rookery also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Elephant Seal Rookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing