We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The elephant seals are amazing!”

Elephant Seal Rookery
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The elephant seals are amazing!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hundreds and hundreds of elephant seals. It was so amazing to see these magnificent giants on our vacation! We were just going to stop and see if we could see any seals and we ended up staying two hours! January is a great month to visit this area!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,790
    413
    50
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
marin County, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

So neat to see the beach just full of recumbent seals! They were noisy, sandy, and pretty darn cool. Good disabled access to the overlook.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BelizetoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have you ever seen a stranger-looking (or a larger) animal?”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It's amazing how these giant seals really don't care how many people are looking down at them and taking pictures. On weekends the main (unpaved) parking lot can fill up with cars and tour buses, but there's another (paved!) lot just to the north of the main one that's a short walk away from the main viewing site along the boardwalk. Be sure to look for the Friends of the Elephant Seal volunteers in the blue windbreakers for more more information in addition to what's on the interpretive signs. There aren't any restrooms at the elephant seal viewing site, but Hearst Castle to the south has free parking and free admission to the visitor center, including restrooms, souvenir and snack shops, and an exhibit. Be sure to look for zebras on the inland side of the highway among the cattle in Hearst Ranch's fields.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy_B_of_San_Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I did not know what to expect when we came to the rookery but we stayed for so long we almost missed our Hearst Tour an hour and a half later! This is something you must see!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rayjax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Massive Good-ons For This Stop”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Traveling north on the Cabrillo Highway (Rt. 1) from San Simeon, Calif. there is a wonderful and free attraction that you will not be sorry you made time for. The Elephant Seal Rookery is an opportunity to see these massive creatures in their natural habitat. Gigantic bulls honk out their warning challenge for all to hear as the ladies and calves rest on the seaweed beds along the shoreline. A simply great and unexpected treat along the way. Be sure to stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Seal Rookery also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Elephant Seal Rookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing