We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Locations in the Big Sur Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2007

The first thing that gets your attention about this fantastic inn is the overall location. Set high at the very edge on a cliff overlooking one of the most incredible views of the Pacific Ocean you will ever see, this is a place for an unforgettable overnight or extended stay.

My wife and I stayed in room 36 for two nights on our way from L.A. to Napa Valley. This room cost about $200 per night and was on the second floor with an unobstructed view of the ocean and surrounding cliff. Breathtaking would be an overused word, but it fits. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and sliding glass door leading out onto a small deck where we would spend time reading and often just taking in the view. I highly recommend this particular room, though the others that line the cliff look every bit as nice. You can't go wrong here but I would take a second floor room if you have a choice, just for the additional view.

There is a gas station, convenience store and restaurant on the property. As expected in a location as remote as this, the prices are high though I felt the restaurant menu prices were not excessive ($20-30). The food is well made and not your standard fare and we felt it was worth every penny. You can choose to eat indoors or out. Both are equally enjoyable but the weather will make that decision for you. As for the gas station which is the only one you will see for miles, just make sure you fill your tank before you get here or you will be stuck paying gas prices that are ridiculous to say the least. ($4.22 a gallon!)

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The surrounding grounds are decorated with flowers and very well kept. There is a path down one side of the cliff leading to a small private beach but I would recommend this only to the bravest and fittest. The view from the top is where we ended our day watching two of the most intense ocean sunsets we have ever seen.

By the way, Hearst Castle, Piedras Blancas (where the elephant seals are this time of the year) and San Simeon beach are an easy 15 minute drive south down highway 1. The coast line along this area is as beautiful as anything you will see in the world and it gets even better when you head north toward Carmel.

I could go on but this is a special place which we hope to visit again in a few years.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dhart396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 695 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2007

The views on the hotel grounds are stunning. Watching the sunset while eating dinner (which was pretty good...better than breakfast at the Dining Room) was worth the whole trip.
My room was rustic...very clean and cozy. The view was awesome. I stayed in an older room and it really was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank featherbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

AVOID THIS HORRIBLE TOURIST TRAP RESTAURANT and go to Cambria, a cute little town about 16 miles south of the Ragged Point Resort, instead. There's no need to put up with bad service and mediocre food when there are very good and inexpensive, even gourmet, alternatives just down the road. And Cambria's even close to the beach--the town is maybe 6 minutes from the shore.

As for bad service: my party was told there would be no seatings for lunch til 12:45 pm as they were busy with a large group. Strange and puzzling since there were many open tables. After we ordered, it took 50 minutes for a child's grilled cheese sandwich, a club sandwich, and a salad to arrive, with no apology and slack service.

They implicitly acknowledged their error by comping us two cokes and a lemonade, but that hardly made up for the fact that two separate parties who were seated *after* us received their food about 25 minutes *before* we did.

Go to Cambria and you'll have a much better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SoulDelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We had driven by Ragged Point Inn several times, stopped to look around a time or two, and decided we'd stay there "some day" ....that time came when we celebrated our wedding anniversary just a week ago.
Our initial phone contact, and then our greeting on arrival, set up a perfect vacation. The receptionist was wonderfully friendly. We had arrived a little earlier than the recommended check-in time, so we strolled around the gorgeous grounds and had a delicious lunch at the snack bar.
The first glance at our suite almost took our breath away! Beautiful decor; handsome bed with lots of pillows and lovely linens; tiled bathroom with a jacuzzi tub; gas fireplace flanked by two comfy armchairs; pretty little table and chairs right inside the glass wall framing a view of the rocky coast, waaaay down there, edging the Pacific. Amazing!
All service was beyond expectations - desk staff, restaurant and snack bar staff and housekeepers were polite and friendly. The three days we spent there were definitely not enough. We'll be back, for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwofromPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Having stayed in both areas of this hotel now, at least a half a dozen times, I can tell you the newer rooms are awesome! The older part of the hotel is pretty basic and funky and hardly worth the money tho. So choose carefully! Views are awesome, grounds are, too.

Stayed: May 2005
2  Thank panini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at the Ragged Point Inn on our way down the coast from San Fran to LA -- we arrived after dark so it was tough to judge the property at that point.

We had an upper floor room with a little deck; the bed was firm but comfy, the decor was simple and maybe a bit dated but more than adequate.

In the morning we were treated to a beautiful (but foggy!) view, and had breakfast at the bright glass-walled restaurant,...breakfast was surprisingly tasty.

The grounds are lovely -- a quick walk along the path is well worth it.

I think we'd definitely stay here again, maybe even for a few nights -- a good starting point to explore Big Sur!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kinbote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We had stayed here in 1991, stopping by chance for a night on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles on Highway 1. Then, it was a small motel type operation, complete with racoons which wandered up to the door of our room. We were doing the trip again this year, so thought it would be good to stay here again. The location is spectacular, on the cliff side, with an uninterrupted view of the Pacific Ocean, and along the coast in both directions. We saw a wonderful sunset the day we were there. We stayed in a Tier 3 room in the new complex that has been built since our first visit - it was fine with refrigerator and microwave, and jacuzzi bath. We had an extra cot ordered for our daughter, and it was, literally, a full size single bed on wheels rather than one of those fragile wire framed things with a thin foam matress. We had dinner in the restaurant which was pricey, but the food was good. The only issue we had was that we shared our meal with a spider and web above our heads, and a small baby spider actually dropped into my husband's wine glass which was not a good look. The location is not far from Hearst Castle and is close to the elephant seal vista, which was a great stop, with lots of newborn seal calves. There are lots of places to stay on Highway 1; Ragged Point Inn is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mazza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,858 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
547 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
921 reviews
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: $141 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing