We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“choose the upgraded rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2007

Having stayed in both areas of this hotel now, at least a half a dozen times, I can tell you the newer rooms are awesome! The older part of the hotel is pretty basic and funky and hardly worth the money tho. So choose carefully! Views are awesome, grounds are, too.

Stayed: May 2005
2  Thank panini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for Ragged Point Inn and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 682 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed at the Ragged Point Inn on our way down the coast from San Fran to LA -- we arrived after dark so it was tough to judge the property at that point.

We had an upper floor room with a little deck; the bed was firm but comfy, the decor was simple and maybe a bit dated but more than adequate.

In the morning we were treated to a beautiful (but foggy!) view, and had breakfast at the bright glass-walled restaurant,...breakfast was surprisingly tasty.

The grounds are lovely -- a quick walk along the path is well worth it.

I think we'd definitely stay here again, maybe even for a few nights -- a good starting point to explore Big Sur!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kinbote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We had stayed here in 1991, stopping by chance for a night on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles on Highway 1. Then, it was a small motel type operation, complete with racoons which wandered up to the door of our room. We were doing the trip again this year, so thought it would be good to stay here again. The location is spectacular, on the cliff side, with an uninterrupted view of the Pacific Ocean, and along the coast in both directions. We saw a wonderful sunset the day we were there. We stayed in a Tier 3 room in the new complex that has been built since our first visit - it was fine with refrigerator and microwave, and jacuzzi bath. We had an extra cot ordered for our daughter, and it was, literally, a full size single bed on wheels rather than one of those fragile wire framed things with a thin foam matress. We had dinner in the restaurant which was pricey, but the food was good. The only issue we had was that we shared our meal with a spider and web above our heads, and a small baby spider actually dropped into my husband's wine glass which was not a good look. The location is not far from Hearst Castle and is close to the elephant seal vista, which was a great stop, with lots of newborn seal calves. There are lots of places to stay on Highway 1; Ragged Point Inn is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mazza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We loved the location on the big sur and the view from the room was fantastic. The room facilities were suprising considering the look of the hotel/motel.

What let it down was the restaurant for lunch after traviling for two weeks round america the service was shocking she took our order forgot it came back for it then forgot our soup anyway. And the food was poor quality with nothing to do at night time not pub we decided not to eat and went to bed early.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stopped for one night whilst driving from San Francsico to LA. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need. We ate one of the best meals we had on the Pacific Coast highway and all of the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel has a store that serves basic necessities and beer and the views are spectacular. The climb down to the beach is not recommended to those who are not fit however it was worth the effort to experience a deserted beach on a stretch of beautiful coastline. The hotel is in a great location and close to several amazing national parks and Hearst Castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good stopover point. It is by no means cheap but very reasonable compared to other hotels in Big Sur.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Ragged Point Inn is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. We were looking for a hotel that was actually in Big Sur, but none of them seemed to be in our price range/view requirements! Ragged Point is just south of Big Sur, but has the same amazing views. We stayed in a "Tier 2" room (king bed, second floor with a balcony) for $206.01 (not that bad for a room in Big Sur)...the room itself is pretty basic and the furnishings a little old, but the view from the balcony made up for everything (see picture). You are so close to the water, you can sleep with your windows open and hear the ocean all night! The Inn has its own restaurant and the food is pretty good (a little overpriced, but is the only option). The Inn also has its own gas station and mini-shop (does not sound exciting, but on Highway 1 gas stations and mini-shops are few and far between). Ragged Point is also one of the only places along that stretch of Highway 1 with its own little, private beach...we did not go to it because it is a pretty steep hike down to it. Ragged Point Inn is so relaxing and beautiful...we will stay again!

6  Thank denvernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stopped for lunch and had one of the best hamburgers during our ten day trip through the central coast of California. This is a wonderful setting, we ate on the outside patio and afterwards walked the short natural trail. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank fun-on-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,779 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
426 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
913 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,982 reviews
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: $142 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing