We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$186
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
$94
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
263
250
101
58
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
250
101
58
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffbig surgas stationgift shopcliffside roommini marthiking trailgas fireplaceprivate beachfantastic locationhearst castleoverlooking the oceanthe pacific coast highwayalong highwayonly stayed one nightroom was largesan francisco
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 719 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We loved the location on the big sur and the view from the room was fantastic. The room facilities were suprising considering the look of the hotel/motel.

What let it down was the restaurant for lunch after traviling for two weeks round america the service was shocking she took our order forgot it came back for it then forgot our soup anyway. And the food was poor quality with nothing to do at night time not pub we decided not to eat and went to bed early.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stopped for one night whilst driving from San Francsico to LA. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need. We ate one of the best meals we had on the Pacific Coast highway and all of the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel has a store that serves basic necessities and beer and the views are spectacular. The climb down to the beach is not recommended to those who are not fit however it was worth the effort to experience a deserted beach on a stretch of beautiful coastline. The hotel is in a great location and close to several amazing national parks and Hearst Castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good stopover point. It is by no means cheap but very reasonable compared to other hotels in Big Sur.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Ragged Point Inn is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. We were looking for a hotel that was actually in Big Sur, but none of them seemed to be in our price range/view requirements! Ragged Point is just south of Big Sur, but has the same amazing views. We stayed in a "Tier 2" room (king bed, second floor with a balcony) for $206.01 (not that bad for a room in Big Sur)...the room itself is pretty basic and the furnishings a little old, but the view from the balcony made up for everything (see picture). You are so close to the water, you can sleep with your windows open and hear the ocean all night! The Inn has its own restaurant and the food is pretty good (a little overpriced, but is the only option). The Inn also has its own gas station and mini-shop (does not sound exciting, but on Highway 1 gas stations and mini-shops are few and far between). Ragged Point is also one of the only places along that stretch of Highway 1 with its own little, private beach...we did not go to it because it is a pretty steep hike down to it. Ragged Point Inn is so relaxing and beautiful...we will stay again!

6  Thank denvernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stopped for lunch and had one of the best hamburgers during our ten day trip through the central coast of California. This is a wonderful setting, we ate on the outside patio and afterwards walked the short natural trail. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank fun-on-wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

The Ragged Point Inn is a wonderful, special place. It is a very clean, comfortable, peaceful place to relax and is well worth the trip from any destination. Keep the place in perspective. Rooms in San Simeon and Cambria are probably less expensive, rooms further north on Hwy 1 are probably more expensive. If you want a hotel where you want to continue your rat race, work on your Palm Pilot/cell phone 24/7 and be catered to in a sterile, generic room, then you are going to the wrong place. Save yourself from disappointment and book yourself into a Hilton instead. Your cell phone will probably not work here, there aren't telephones in the rooms, and there aren't alarm clocks either. Take off your wrist watch and try to enjoy the place and slow down.
The Ragged Point Inn is located in South Big Sur; on top of stunning cliffs, overlooking spectacular views of the coast line; the grounds are immaculate and beautiful as any fine park; there is a rickety trail to a private rugged beach; wildlife abounds, whether watching the falcons circle from the cliffs, otters in the ocean, seals barking in the coves, various birds everywhere; and if you catch the right time of year, whales and calves off the point. The AMBIENCE is second to none and therapeutic for the soul. There are many benches and chairs scattered throughout the property that invite you to sit, share a drink, enjoy each other's company and conversation, as you watch the scenery. Our room was clean and very comfortable- private balcony, gas fireplace, whirlpool bath tub, and comfortable furniture. The "older rooms" could be considered a little funky, but they are clean and comfortable. Regardless of which room is selected, hopefully visitors do not miss the whole point of going to Ragged Point by spending more time in your room than spending outside. Watching "Friends" on TV in the room or walking along the trail and watching the sun set on the ocean. Hmmm- no brainer.
The restaurant is okay, the mini mart is over priced, and the gas is very expensive. But the same can be said for most places in San Francisco. Again, keep Ragged Point in perspective: you will be at least 30 minutes, from either direction, from the next available services. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and will eat there again the next time we stay there, because we did not want to drive for an hour to eat and miss out on the time we could spend on the Ragged Point grounds.
If you are looking for a beautiful, special place to get yourself together; to catch your breath; to share a romantic adventure with someone; to marvel at the rugged coastline, then Ragged Point is the place. We return to Ragged Point because of the peacefulness that allows us to unwind, reconnect, and recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank usfbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews