We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful scenery, awful service.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Berkeley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beutiful scenery, awful service.”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The view is outstanding and the hotel is quite cute. The people there though think that is enough and don't feel they need to treat the customers nicely. Do stop over yo check out the scenery, and move on to friendlier grounds.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILuvCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    240
    95
    55
    44
See reviews for
150
369
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

After a long drive down the Big Sur from San Francisco, we were pleasantly surprised when we came across the Ragged Point Inn. The grounds were beautiful and the setting of the Inn is absolutely breathtaking. The room we had was large and roomy but a little outdated as far as decor. We also had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant in a very romantic setting as well. I would certainly go back if travelling in the area again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

CAUTION: They will give your room away!‎

Travelling along the historic PCH, you may be tempted to reserve rooms at the Ragged Point Inn. Yes, the views are breath-taking and teh hotel has a good reputation....BUT BEWARE, THEY WILL GIVE YOUR ROOM AWAY.

Last summer, my fiance and I left early in the morning from San Francisco with reservations at the Ragged Point Inn. We travelled through all the main tourist attractions and the day passed very quickly. Cellphone service was intermittent, and we were unable to call ahead for a "late check-in." We trusted that they had our credit card information and would hold the room for our late arrival. At 9pm, we arrived to the manager telling us that they had given our room to someone else, and that they require late check-in calls if you are to arrive after 6pm. You can imagine our dismay. We trusted that we could find another hotel down the road.....BEWARE, YOU WILL NOT FIND A HOTEL WITH VACANCY ALONG THE CALIFORNIA COAST ON A SATURDAY IN THE SUMMER. We searched until 1am and called all the major hotels. We ended up "sleeping" in the rental car (a tiny mustang convertible) at a park in San luis Obispo.

Please do not make the same mistakes we made:
-Do not assume you have a room even though you have a reservation
-Do not rely on cellphone service along Northern PCH.
-Always call for a late check-in to be sure.
-Do not trust that your credit card is enough to hold your room
(I still can't figure this one out- did they make more money on our room to give it away?)
-Do not waste your time looking for a hotel along the California Coast in summer. You will not find one.
-Do not sleep in a mustang convertible.

We hope this helps keep you away from an unpleasant night.

Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dahlberg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The property and location are lovely, but my room had some problems. I stayed in the off season, yet the price for my accommodations was higher than any I had paid in an entire year of traveling. After driving south on Highway 1, I was more than ready to stop for the night. Although the ocean views are spectacular on this road, there are not many places along the way to rest or replenish. Be advised that you should have a full tank of gasoline before embarking on this trip. (I stopped once in Gorda, CA and was asked to pay $5.60 a gallon.)

Out of necessity, I stayed at Ragged Point and paid their high rate. As I entered the room, I encountered an old, chipped sink console and suitcase rack. The bathroom and tile flooring were dated as well, and featured some mold and rust. However, the main bedroom was nicely redecorated and had a fireplace. I didn’t use it because although it was chilly outside, the room was warm and stuffy. This was due to the lack of screened windows and ventilation. There was one very small window by the front door and another at the other end of the room. It did not have an air conditioning system. There was a sliding glass door, but it was unscreened and facing a public walkway. I didn’t feel comfortable leaving it open at night and insects kept entering through it. I was pestered by flies all day.

I enjoyed watching the ocean and sunset, however, the chain link fence that surrounds the property detracts from the view. Unfortunately, the walls were paper thin and I could hear the conversations and activities of my neighbors on both sides. The television was nice, but I didn’t use it much in consideration of the other guests. The coffee pot had no carafe and there was no microwave or iron. The lanterns from the front walkway kept my room illumined all night. I tried to cover the window with a towel, but did not succeed in masking the light.

I did not have cell phone reception, so I needed to use the internet to communicate with my family. I was disappointed to learn that I had to pay $9.95 extra to use this service for one day. That made it more frustrating when the service was down the next morning. On a positive note, the property features a restaurant, general store, gift shop, gas pump and some RV parking. The restaurant manager was very friendly and helpful. The bud vase of fresh roses was a nice touch and the toiletries were good quality. I think the upper story rooms might have afforded more privacy and comfort, but I didn't want to pay for an upgrade when the basic price was so high. I would highly recommend the local scenery.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — High price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceminister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had eaten at Ragged Point years ago and the food was great. I don't know if the the ownership changed or what happened, but this place has one good point the view. First the hotel makes you pay for your stay as soon as you check in. I counted 3 nice size spiders in my room. I was going to switch rooms but the only other room available also had at least 3 spiders crawling on the walls and ceiling. The staff stated they couldn't do anything about the spiders that night. The restaurant served microwaved vegetables (not fresh) and my pork chop was tough, not a quality cut. Needless to say the price was not cheap. The staff was friendly, but this hotel is not worth the money. I will not stay here again nor will I recommend it for the restaurant or the accommodations.

  • Liked — The ocean view
  • Disliked — The spiders in my room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52andcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

A beautiful location. When we were here, the rest of Highway 1 was close due to 70 mile per hour winds and landslides. Even in te rain, so beautiful.
The rooms were very nice. Scandanavian style log, large.
Some of reviews mention bathroom, etc being small.
If you are from the USA outsid of the North-East and the older cities elsewhere, then this is definitely true, as there is so much more space!. However, for people from these areas and from Europe, they are no smaler than normal.
It is located on a clifftop with mountains right behind.

  • Liked — Absolutely not a 'chain" hotel
  • Disliked — It has no mobile (cell) phone coverage.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alan-ErasmusBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We were driving down highway 1 and decided to stop at Ragged Point inn. They only had one room left, and it was quite expensive ($179 + tax). The room was huge with king bed and a jacuzi. It was clean, but maybe a bit dated. The bed was not that comfortable, and the room was hot.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was pretty good.

Ok place to stay when you are on the road, but if you are staying more than one night I think I would try to find something else.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solsikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
No photo provided
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,720 reviews
18.4 mi away
No photo provided
18.1 mi away
No photo provided
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
18.8 mi away
No photo provided
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
20.8 mi away
No photo provided
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing