We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven Experience at the Ragged Point Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Union City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uneven Experience at the Ragged Point Inn”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked a night at the Ragged Point Inn for old time's sake, having stayed there on our first anniversary, thirty-one years ago. I suspect most people stumble upon the inn because they grow weary of driving Highyway One in the fog or the dark, in fact the the Australian who checked in right after us said that is why he was checking in.
Our room was in an older part of the facility where the dark decor, while freshened up has not changed for thirty years. We appreciated the gas fire place that provides heat for the room and access to the patio overlooking the ocean, just outside of our room. The major issue I had was the bathroom where thick, black mold grows on the shower walls. Chunks of mold broke off while I showered, yuck.
If you can Ignore the mold, the grounds of the inn are pretty, planted with mostly California natives that attract hummingbirds and butterflies. The "nature path" still allows for a challenging trek down the side of the bluff to the ocean. The seclusion of the area, on a bluff with ocean views is the reason I come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    239
    93
    55
    44
See reviews for
150
365
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were really looking forward to our visit, the trip down highway 1 was amazing the views breathtaking. When we arrived at the hotel the grounds were quite nice and the exterior was just as the website had shown. So far so good. We had the upstairs Cliffside deluxe with the private balcony. the balcony was very small no table and wood bench seating, Ocean view blocked by trees but private. Fireplace was quite nice although the chairs were seated within inches of it. The room had no a/c or ceiling fan so air flow was non existent making it difficult to sleep. Although we are not clean freaks we were also disappointed that the ice bucket didn't contain a sanitary plastic bag and there is only 1 ice machine on the property also not so sanitary. Surface mold grew in the shower area, this could easily be removed with Clorox clean up spray but it didn't seem to matter. bulbs required replacing and the room was dusty. Attention to cleanliness was lacking.
The onsite restaurant was also lacking the attention to detail. No one greeted you upon arrival instead you had to announce your arrival and then wait till someone showed up to seat you. The glass windows were great for allowing opportunity to enjoy the ocean view, but they too were enjoying cob webs and spiders, not so appetizing be careful where you sit. As we looked around the restaurant we saw bird poop both indoors and out. Again be careful where you sit. The meal was very well prepared and quite delicious. We went back to the restaurant for breakfast unfortunately same routine announce yourself then be seated. the Breakfast food for me left me discouraged. For the money we paid if they had paid attention to detail and were more attentive to the guests rooms and dining experience it would have been much much better.

Room Tip: paying for private balconies isn't worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladiejad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

OK ... the view from the grounds is gorgeous. But our room had it's issues. Our 2nd floor west facing room had large windows, but totally inadequate ventilation with only 2 small south facing windows that opened. The fan above the bed had only 1 speed ... high. The jacuzzi was nice, but the mechanical stopper was broken so they only had a rubber stopper that didn't work that well. I was surprised the door didn't have a deadbolt, only a cheap knob lock. Like some other reviewers said, the place is dated but it's the only game in town and has the location, location, location. Restaurant food was great, but overpriced. Unlike other reviewers experiences, the person who checked us in was extremely friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms facing west probably have better ventilation. Avoid the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Gorgeous location but the place needs some serious updating. The bed was old (just like everything else in the room), some of the staff was totally uninterested (but one gentleman in the cafe couldn't have been more fun) and the food in the restaurant was way overpriced. If I were to be back in the area again, I'd probably try elsewhere, but it's not terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I made a last minute reservation here when I couldn't get into places right in Big Sur. this is about 20 mins south, but I was not disappointed! The people that work there are so excited to be there and really want you to enjoy your stay. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset and chill. Great coffee too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely place to stay. The view was what really makes the place, nice gardens on grounds too.
Restaurant on site is good but a bit pricey. We saw bottle nose dolphins from the point view on the property, that was cool. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the fireplace in the room was a very nice touch. This was close to San Simeon so nice for visitors to they castle.

Room Tip: Rooms away from road a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Ragged Point celebrating our anniversary, we stayed in a "Deluxe" upstairs room. Other than the spectacular views and a nice Jacuzzi tub there was nothing Deluxe about the room. Curtains pulls were broken, very hard to open & close. Bed was uncomfortable with poor quality sheets & blanket. The tub had missing grout and was moldy. I did not feel we received our monies worth on this one. The restaurant has nice views, we were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunset except the windows were so dirty it certainly obscured the beauty. The food was average at best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtngirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,680 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing