We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Ragged Point celebrating our anniversary, we stayed in a "Deluxe" upstairs room. Other than the spectacular views and a nice Jacuzzi tub there was nothing Deluxe about the room. Curtains pulls were broken, very hard to open & close. Bed was uncomfortable with poor quality sheets & blanket. The tub had missing grout and was moldy. I did not feel we received our monies worth on this one. The restaurant has nice views, we were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunset except the windows were so dirty it certainly obscured the beauty. The food was average at best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 685 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having low expectations is always a good place to start; we should have known that the place with a vacancy on a busy night in August might be dicey. But the website looked good...

The place was acceptable - nicely located, anyway - though the gardens under-watered with drip hose exposed, ugly fencing to protect the drunk or foolish from going over the cliff, the rooms devoid of insulation, and the beds and furnishings disreputable.

But the woman at the front desk really took the cake. Unpleasant barely describes her. Bossy, arbitrary, and unreasonable - we were intimidated by her attitude and left feeling sorry for her co-workers, who were cheerful and considerate.

The Ragged Point Inn and Resort feels like an absentee managed property being managed by irrational and inflexible rules, with no love or kindness spared on either the property or the guests.

I suspect it is used as a place for destination weddings; if you are considering this, please look elsewhere for a place to start your married life. It is a stunning spot, but has a cold heart.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank recklessweimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Whenever we travel down the coast from the San Francisco Bay Area, we always stay at least a night at Ragged Point, and two nights if we want to spend a day exploring Hearst Castle, which is only about a 12-mile drive to the south. If your stay in the area is centered around visiting Hearst Castle, you may prefer staying at one of the chain motels in San Simeon or even Cambria, but if you don't mind the drive and want to stay at a more remote site at the southernmost end of the rugged Big Sur area (steep mountains and cliffs directly down to the ocean), and you don't mind being somewhat incommunicado (via telephone and internet), then Ragged Point will be for you. There is no swimming pool nor fitness facility, but that isn't unusual concerning the age of the facility, and the location.

The facility is somewhat dated (very 1970s), but is comfortable, and the natural beauty of the mountains, ocean, and cypress groves make this place compelling. The gardens surrounding the glass house restaurant are gorgeous, and very attractive to hummingbirds and migrating butterflies. We almost always request a cliffside, ground floor room, as these have the best direct views of the ocean (when fog is absent), and it is so nice to crack open a bottle of wine and sit on the outdoor patio to watch the ocean and listen to the surf crash at the bottom of the cliffs below. The rooms are moderately priced, but a bit on the high end, yet definitely a much better deal than further north in Big Sur proper. Rooms are heated by recently installed, electronic-ignition gas fireplaces, which is nice, but unfortunately take up some of the window space so that the drapes only open up so far for the view.

The restaurant is always good, nothing fancy, but service can be rather slow at times, especially when the meal is over and you almost have to get someone's attention to get the check. The glass house quality of the restaurant works very well as views are unobstructed, and it never has a "hothouse" feel to it, in spite of being mostly all-glass walls and roof. The restaurant has only a beer and wine license, apparently, so don't expect to order a Bloody Mary with your breakfast! Adjacent to the property is a small vegetable garden that I think the chef uses for fresh vegetables and garnishes. Near the gift shop and on-site gas station is a snack bar that is very popular in the afternoon with travelers, so it must be good, although we have never tried it.

One caution about the gas station: unless you are driving on fumes and have to get gas, you would be better advised to gas up in Big Sur proper further north, or in San Simeon or Cambria to the south (where the chain gas stations are located), or maybe just put a few gallons of gas to get you to the next town, as the gas prices at Ragged Point are eye-poppingly high (pushing six dollars a gallon on our most recent visit, versus four dollars everywhere else).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Ragged Point is a great place for a family to stay before or after driving the Big Sur road. We booked late and still managed to get one cliff edge room for us and a less good one for the kids (they are only interested in the tv frankly). There's only one dining option - at the onsite but separately managed restaurant. The latter was the only slight let down - just trying too hard to be fancy with small plates which didn't really work. Though breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyguy23-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice and comfortable bedrooms. Pretty view from the room (mine was a ground floor room in the garden building) and beautiful view from the gardens. Really nice and short trail takes you down to a small rock beach, definitely worth doing at sunset.
A bit pricey but worth it!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 250jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on the Big Sur leg of our trip. The cliff-side rooms offered an amazing view, and the first night we watched a striking sunset; the sun seemingly melted into the Pacific Ocean. The second night the seasonal fog rolled in, so we felt lucky to have seen that lovely view the first night. Used this as our base as we visited Hearst Castle. The rooms at Ragged Point were clean and comfortable, with a small patio outside facing the ocean. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, but not a huge selection (probably due to remote location), and pricey. FYI no cell phone service for Verizon customers here, but on vacation it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffaloroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a long vacation and drive the PCH. Along the way, we found Ragged Point Inn. I love this place. The views and location are just incredible. The rooms face the ocean and it was great to sit outside on the patio and read a book and listen to the ocean.

The restaurant on location was great. They have an outdoor patio and we were visited one morning for breakfast by the local cat. Really lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,801 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
467 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,023 reviews
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: $143 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing