We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy being out of the cell phone zone...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Alameda, CA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoy being out of the cell phone zone...”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A delightful respite off the coast of 1, a relatively short drive from Hearst Castle and one of the best options in the area.
Don't come here and complain about the fog - welcome to California. Enjoy.
The restaurant was... ok. Go ahead and enjoy; it's fine, but if you're from San Francisco you might find it a bit wanting; it wasn't terribly exciting, but the views can't be beat.
Leave your door cracked and listen to the waves crashing below. Appreciate the real key you're handed. Understand that late checkout will cost you $30 (but they're not going to give you grief if you show up at 11:05). Maybe skip the food stand outside, but definitely check out the mini-mart/gift shop.
And, if you have the knees and time, hike down to the ocean. it's steep and slippery but borderline fine for amateur hikers, beautiful once you get down there, and perfect for rock-stacking.
Oh, and jacuzzi tubs... +1. Delightful.

Room Tip: Ocean side all the way, baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    240
    96
    55
    44
See reviews for
151
371
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last summer my husband and I did a road trip through California. We pre-booked accomodations before leaving home. From the looks of Ragged Point on-line, we were really looking froward to our stay. When we saw our room and where it was we were quite surprised. Right next to the sidewalk being used by everyone who stopped. I felt like I was in a public park not a higher priced hotel. The grounds and view were absolutely breathtaking but the noise of people and their kids and dogs stopping through and then the music started! Apparently they have live music on weekend afternoons!
Upon arrival we asked if there was another room and went to have a look. Way out of our price range!! Maybe it is quieter off season and mid-week but if you want to enjoy the grounds you paid for then be forewarned.

Room Tip: ask for the "hotel" not the rooms attached to the office. money is no object then go furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 36margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The views are stunning (if the weather is clear), and they offer plenty of access to those views. The staff is invariably friendly, professional, and eager to please. Unfortunately, the owners have let the facility inexcusably date and deteriorate. The "deluxe" room was dated and worn, with cheap fixtures, an old over-the-air TV with poor reception, and no internet or phone. The pillows were small and cheap, the furniture was in the wrong place, and the windows were filthy.The whole facility has a run down, unfinished sense about it. Definitely not worth its high price.

The restaurant has an excellent cook and a creative menu, but the filthy windows and sills and dusty rafters put me off the meals. When you drop $70-$100 for dinner, you expect at least table linens and cleanliness. They had neither.

Visit the area for sure. Enjoy the views, maybe visit their little shops. But for the price ($$$$), there are far better accommodations 25 miles south in Cambria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SGTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The view and grounds at the Ragged Point Inn are pretty amazing.The sunset is also incredible but when it came to our room we have to say that it is mediocre at best as well. The sheets were dirty and the comforter. Also, we guaranteed two beds and only got one. They wheeled in a roll away bed. (Not so nice) The room wasn't worth the money that we were paying for it.
Also,the service staff at the restaurant is untrained, unfriendly and not helpful.
Overalls, I loved the views and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I initially booked a garden room because it was $40 less than an oceanview room but ended up switching to the oceanview room since garden rooms allow pets and my son suffers from severe allergies. Since the fog completely obscured our view of the ocean in the late afternoon and through the night, we were unable to appreciate the view from our room until the next morning as we were getting ready to leave. Even so, leaving the curtains open is not something you want to do on the ground floor since guests are continuously walking along the fence to take advantage of the stunning vistas. Room 28 was spacious, clean, and comfortable with 2 separate sinks and a gas fireplace, though the carpet could use a good cleaning. The food was very good, but the restaurant window area needs to be cleaned on a regular basis to clear away the numerous cobwebs and dirt. The trail down the cliff was a challenge for me but not for my teenage son. Proper shoes are important. The grounds are well maintained and beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpineadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of three from Boston were working our way north along California's sunny, dramatic coast, stopping for several days in Santa Barbara before heading up towards Big Sur. After enjoying the ambience of Pacifica Suites in SB I wondered if I had made a mistake booking the Ragged Point Inn vs. Pacifica's sister locations in Cambrian---so I called Ragged Point hoping to get out of my reservation but was told there was a 72 hour window needed to back out. Not happy about that, and wondering if Ragged Point Inn would measure up, we proceeded north. To our surprise and delight it proved to be the highlight of our vacation---perched on the bluff at the southern most end of Big Sur, our room looked out over the blue Pacific far below us, with gorgeous grounds and plantings in a wild and natural landscape. It seems like a spot easy to overlook, and in my case wonder if it was clean, well maintained, with a restaurant serving only passable meals. But the restaurant, where we ate both supper and breakfast, shared a bottle of fine California red wine in the evening, was excellent and both my wife and I came away with that wonderful feeling you get when you've discovered a gem so many others may have passed by too quickly. The setting was so majestic we took our Christmas family photo standing on very firm ground while looking out over the cliffs and mountains scrambling down into the water far below. It's a way of sharing with friends and family our surprising good fortune to have found The Ragged Point Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a gas fireplace in our room---it can be quite chilly even on a morning in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbw880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As others have said the grounds at the Ragged Point Inn are pretty amazing and as such there was a wedding on site the day we arrived. The views are also incredible but when it came to our room we have to say that it is mediocre at best.

I'm not sure whether the room was tired or whether it was just decorated that way but it wasn't worth the money that we were paying for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,744 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,927 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing