We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very peaceful and romantic getaway. Incredible view, reasonable prices, comfortable, clean rooms and friendly reception. Also the breakfast served in the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KanguraCharrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 697 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was my first trip to California as I live on the East Coast. The Pacific Coast is magnificent, and Ragged Point Inn was a beautiful location in itself with the ocean just outside the door, but also convenient to Big Sur, Hearst Casle, a public beach, and the unique town of Cambria, CA. My friend and I stayed at Ragged Point, where she worked in the '70's when it was much smaller, from Oct. 14-17, 2012. The ocean, beautiful landscaping, and abundant hummingbirds and butterflies offered many photo ops. The store/gift shop had a little bit of everything, and the restaurant had wonderful food with reasonable prices. Staff were very friendly and efficient, and the grounds were emaculate. One of the overviews on the way to Cambria had hundreds of elephant seals sunning on the beach. I would definitely recommend Ragged Point to everyone, and if I ever get out to California again, I would surely stay there.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. We arrived on a Sunday, mid Oct., and there was only one room available, righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ragged Point Inn was an awesome place to stay after taking the must beautiful drive in the country along Hwy 1 from Carmel. This drive is so wonderful, you want to stop frequently. So, allow many hours more than you think you need to do the drive from the north. Hours of cliff views and hair-pin curves makes Ragged Point Inn a wonderful respite. We had a "cliffside-ground" room and it was amazing. Just 30 ft from a quiet patio is the fenced cliff overlooking the Big Sur. Plan to arrive early enough to walk around the grounds leisurely and take photos. The restaurant is very good as well. A strenuous hike to the beach is available, with a waterfall view in season. Besides the facts that the Inn is rated so highly, the views are incredible, and the atmosphere is a quiet rural environment, we found it perfectly located to end our drive from Monterey by mid afternoon and it places one less than 15 miles from Hearst Castle. By planning your trip well in advance to reserve a cliffside ground room and a tour at the Hearst Castle the next morning, the entire experience was the highlight of our California Central Coast trip from San Jose to Santa Barbara along Hwy 1 and back north through the Central Coast wine country.

Room Tip: "ground- cliffside" 199$ weekdays. Weekend traffic along Hwy 1 is MUCH heavier, so taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morrisroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The sunset views were spectacular. The room was rather pricy. No special amenities. You had to buy internet service, but we couldn't get it to work. The staff couldn't give help on that; they offered the use of the phone to call the internet provider. No cell phone service because of the mountains. Beautiful gardens with lots of butterflies, hummingbirds, and other birds. Restaurant food was fairly good, but the service was slow. The sign at the entrance said wait to be seated, but no one was there either time we walked in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuidoTheTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed just one night at Ragged Point, and enjoyed it a lot. We took ground floor with back exit right to the cliff edge over the ocean, and the view is magical all the time you see it.
The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated.

The restaurant which served breakfast and dinner, was excellent, food delicious and staff very friendly.
Also, there is souvenir shop and small gas station next to the Inn, in a convenient location. We also liked park with amazing trees and flowers, surrounded with ocean view points.

Definitely, we will prefer to stay here next time and recommend this place to the friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have exit to the green area in the backyard, but first floor ones have balkonies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sergiy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Actually stayed in June 2011 (been meaning to put this review up for ages!!)
The hotel itself is fairly basic and desparately needs updating, but the views are amazing but overall no where near worth the money you pay!! The hotel had stopped serving food when we arrived as it was late (we had been diverted as there was a landslide on the coast road). So we had to go to the petrol station next door and buy some food. When we got back to our room we noticed that the two bottles of beer and a chocolate bar we had bought were out of date by a few months!! so the next morning we went over to the petrol station and asked for our money back. The manager was there and was extremely rude, and said that he would not offer us a refund as it is our responsibility to check it before we buy it!!! after some heated words we left the hotel extremely angry!!! We put in a formal complaint and filled in a form at the hotel reception but never got a response via email!! So starving hungry we went down to the road to Cambria where we went to a best western right on the sea front and had a lovely breakfast! would never go to ragged point again, extremely over-priced and a terrible stay!!!

Room Tip: just dont bother with this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently spent one night here on the way from San Jose to Cambria. The room was just average, but the grounds and views are spectacular. And, after all, what other reason is there for driving Highway 1? Dinner in the restaurant was very nice and breakfast in the breakfast bar was also nice, especially if you take your coffee and scone and sit on the deck beside the koi pond.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GtwnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,884 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
894 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
921 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: $140 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing