We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT IT THERE IS AN EMERGENCY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WHAT IT THERE IS AN EMERGENCY!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in room #8 deluxe upper cliff side with a beautiful view. A weekend stay was about $600, there for a romantic anniversary weekend. I will start with the positive qualities. A beautiful view, a clean and comfortable room. We had a decent dinner (food).

Now for the disadvantages! Expensive, no phones in the rooms, and when I asked about it, the receptionist's response was we have two pay phones, I asked if what if there was an emergency, she said I can run to the payphone!!! No cell reception! So, I think the internet could be complimentary! At 10 pm, everthing is closed, seriously, the gas station/snackbar/reception...10pm-8am NO SERVICE, EVERYBODY GOES HOME!!! I asked fir an iron and ironing board...the receptionist kida laughed, and started to say something like "our clients don't usually...." (she didn't finish her sentence) Bad service in the restaurant, and they serve beer and wine only. The rooms have OLD televisions! Our room did not get serviced. We wanted to have a sweet bite to eat, took two pieces of cake from the coffee shop, $13.95 for two of the smallest CRAPIEST pieces of cake! Will not return!

I was a bit sad, my husband an I have never had such a dissapointing experience! Our anniversary get aways are always so memorable, and romantic. We really did make the best of it. Luckily we packed our favorite eats and drinks from home!!! We sat in our room and really did enjoy the lovely view with our own coctails and gourmet food!

My guess is this is a struggling family business, and they could care less what he patrons complain about, they have the views, and people will stay and pay because of it. I really could kick myself over it, because I booked well in advance, and we really could have stayed somewhere nicer! Live and learn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 79Vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    240
    95
    55
    44
See reviews for
150
369
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, california
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Couldn't decide between 3 and 4 stars/circles for this one. We stayed at the Ragged Point Inn for 4 days this summer and it is beautifully situated overlooking the ocean. Like others, we stayed there because everything else was booked. The rooms are not the most amazing, but they are large, comfortable and well-maintained. It's true that anywhere else, $200/night would be a ripoff, but this is Big Sur and everything is expensive. We thought the restaurant was quite good as long as you stuck with basics like steaks, burgers and pasta. Also, the waitstaff and hotel staff was sooo nice and helpful to us. We stayed in an ocean-view room, which is the way to go, b/c otherwise you might as well be at a motel, and brought a cooler that we refilled with ice every night so we had our own snacks and grilled our own food at the campground up route 1.

The main reason I wouldn't stay there again is that it's like 50 miles from everything! If you want to check out the Henry Miller library or most of the hiking trails, be prepared to sit in the car for an hour at least. And with the dark roads at night, the only relaxing option is to eat at the hotel restaurant. BUT if you feel like relaxing with an ocean view for and not doing anything at all, it's a great, relatively inexpensive way to do that.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rilly_nilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This has a terrific view of high cliffs going do to the ocean, and paths to get to the beach. The hotel is a mixed bag. Comfortable rooms, though resort prices for motel accommodations. One of receptionists was rude, the snack bar is very slow, and restaurant food below the Big Sur standard. There's not much competition, so in a pinch its OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had tried to make reservations at Lucia Lodge up the road for two nights but were only able to get one, so we opted to stay one night here. Everything on Route 1 is overpriced, so this seemed our best choice. On the outside, it is nice with the view and gardens with a restaurant, gas station, snack bar and mini-mart on site. The reception desk was not what I would call friendly. The clerk was on the phone and did not even make eye contact to say, "be with you in a moment". When she did, she quickly told us all the "facts". As I was filling out the guest sheet, she was also talking to another gal who was wanting a room and showed her a price sheet (seems she didn't want me to know what those prices were) and told her there were no other hotels until Monterey when she said the price was too high. That is definitely not true and misleading to say the least.

The room was adequate, but not special for sure. The gas fireplace was nice and the view from our room was very nice. Other than that, nothing special. The bed was not comfortable. After our disappointment in the room, we decided not to eat at the restaurant for fear it would be an expensive disappointment as well. We ate at the snack bar and turned in early.

I think they are running on the location, location, location and can demand the price because the view is so nice. Not as nice as further up the road though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popogonggong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like other reviews, our experience was consistent. The only reason I'm giving the Ragged Point 3 stars is because the views are outstanding, gardens nice and we did have a solid meal at the restaurant with good service from a hard working waiter. If I could do a 2.5 I would. You know things are run down when your 10 year old is pointing out stains on the comforter and chair and declares she knows why the hotel is called the Ragged Point iInn, with an emphasis on ragged. We found the room stuffy and beds super uncomfortable. Distance wise, it was a nice driving day from Ragged Point up to Carmel through Big Sur, which was our main reason for picking it. I think traveling through Big Sur with kids is challenging overall from a hotel standpoint and unfortunately, the Ragged Point will be off of our list of options in the future. I'm still confused why "resort" is in the name since the only amenities there are rooms, restaurant and snack bar...?

Room Tip: Try to book one of the updated rooms - we saw through windows that some appeared redone with flat sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famo4Philly_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetsund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived after a days drive and were really looking forward to the rest in the hotel. The woman at the reception was one of the most terrible service people we have ever met. She did not look at us once as we were checking in and she turned away when we spoke to her. She was so far away from nice and polite as one can be! As we came to the room they had forgotten to put in an extra bed and therefor our ten-year-old had to sleep with his parents - it was a terrible night and we didn't sleep much. (Yes, we could have asked for a bed, but the woman at the reception had an attitude which left us not doing it.) We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. The service was OK, nothing special.
The next morning I told the lady at the reception about our welcome the night before and she appologized and said it was not the first time someone complained about that woman..... We should write the Manager, she told us.....

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

When you look at the outside of the Inn, all the gardens , the scenery, even the parking, it's all very nice...the scenery is spectacular! The room had a wonderful view of Big Sur, Room 22! The bathrooms however were very dated, in fact there was mold on the shower caulking. The heat light in the bathroom didnt work, and the hairdryer only partially. The mattresses felt like original equipment (the Inn is probably 50+ yrs old!!). I felt every spring! The meals we had were excellent, but prices seemed to be based on the nostalgic fact that apparantly Oprah and Maria Schriver have stayed there on separate occasions. Lastly, the fella cooking the breakfast sandwiches needs to have a few lessons on customer service. He yelled at one of us "It's not open until the signs on!" ( the sign was on)(and we were told by other staff to get our breakfast food there!) It then took him approx. 20 mins to make four fried egg sandwiches?? Really?

Room Tip: Plan to be at your "Big Sur" destination early in the day. Make the most of the hiking /dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,722 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing