We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This has a terrific view of high cliffs going do to the ocean, and paths to get to the beach. The hotel is a mixed bag. Comfortable rooms, though resort prices for motel accommodations. One of receptionists was rude, the snack bar is very slow, and restaurant food below the Big Sur standard. There's not much competition, so in a pinch its OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    240
    95
    55
    44
See reviews for
150
369
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had tried to make reservations at Lucia Lodge up the road for two nights but were only able to get one, so we opted to stay one night here. Everything on Route 1 is overpriced, so this seemed our best choice. On the outside, it is nice with the view and gardens with a restaurant, gas station, snack bar and mini-mart on site. The reception desk was not what I would call friendly. The clerk was on the phone and did not even make eye contact to say, "be with you in a moment". When she did, she quickly told us all the "facts". As I was filling out the guest sheet, she was also talking to another gal who was wanting a room and showed her a price sheet (seems she didn't want me to know what those prices were) and told her there were no other hotels until Monterey when she said the price was too high. That is definitely not true and misleading to say the least.

The room was adequate, but not special for sure. The gas fireplace was nice and the view from our room was very nice. Other than that, nothing special. The bed was not comfortable. After our disappointment in the room, we decided not to eat at the restaurant for fear it would be an expensive disappointment as well. We ate at the snack bar and turned in early.

I think they are running on the location, location, location and can demand the price because the view is so nice. Not as nice as further up the road though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popogonggong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like other reviews, our experience was consistent. The only reason I'm giving the Ragged Point 3 stars is because the views are outstanding, gardens nice and we did have a solid meal at the restaurant with good service from a hard working waiter. If I could do a 2.5 I would. You know things are run down when your 10 year old is pointing out stains on the comforter and chair and declares she knows why the hotel is called the Ragged Point iInn, with an emphasis on ragged. We found the room stuffy and beds super uncomfortable. Distance wise, it was a nice driving day from Ragged Point up to Carmel through Big Sur, which was our main reason for picking it. I think traveling through Big Sur with kids is challenging overall from a hotel standpoint and unfortunately, the Ragged Point will be off of our list of options in the future. I'm still confused why "resort" is in the name since the only amenities there are rooms, restaurant and snack bar...?

Room Tip: Try to book one of the updated rooms - we saw through windows that some appeared redone with flat sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famo4Philly_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetsund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived after a days drive and were really looking forward to the rest in the hotel. The woman at the reception was one of the most terrible service people we have ever met. She did not look at us once as we were checking in and she turned away when we spoke to her. She was so far away from nice and polite as one can be! As we came to the room they had forgotten to put in an extra bed and therefor our ten-year-old had to sleep with his parents - it was a terrible night and we didn't sleep much. (Yes, we could have asked for a bed, but the woman at the reception had an attitude which left us not doing it.) We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. The service was OK, nothing special.
The next morning I told the lady at the reception about our welcome the night before and she appologized and said it was not the first time someone complained about that woman..... We should write the Manager, she told us.....

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

When you look at the outside of the Inn, all the gardens , the scenery, even the parking, it's all very nice...the scenery is spectacular! The room had a wonderful view of Big Sur, Room 22! The bathrooms however were very dated, in fact there was mold on the shower caulking. The heat light in the bathroom didnt work, and the hairdryer only partially. The mattresses felt like original equipment (the Inn is probably 50+ yrs old!!). I felt every spring! The meals we had were excellent, but prices seemed to be based on the nostalgic fact that apparantly Oprah and Maria Schriver have stayed there on separate occasions. Lastly, the fella cooking the breakfast sandwiches needs to have a few lessons on customer service. He yelled at one of us "It's not open until the signs on!" ( the sign was on)(and we were told by other staff to get our breakfast food there!) It then took him approx. 20 mins to make four fried egg sandwiches?? Really?

Room Tip: Plan to be at your "Big Sur" destination early in the day. Make the most of the hiking /dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Sadly stayed here on a Route One road trip in rooms 26 and 27, spent a few days looking for a half way hotel between San Fran and LA.
It was a great location but the rooms need a upgrade as they feel like 1970's decor and are borderline clean,
It was just fit for puropse - would never stay more than one night
The restaurant was Ok just bit it is literary a service station on the side of Route 1.
Ok for one night on a long journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kityikana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Ragged Point for 3 nights. I have no complaints about the room, it had an amazing view and was clean and comfortable. The problem was the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant to the coffee bar. Wow. These people must be overworked and/or underpaid because they seem to resent the customers. The night-time front desk woman was rude and grumpy. We would wait for ever trying to be seated at the sparsely populated restaurant by the hostess who would ignore you for at least 10 minutes before seating you. One night we stood with another couple in disbelief for quite some time as we watched her wander around the restaurant ignoring the group of people waiting up front. I did notice she was bussing tables, which might be part of the problem. Not sure that should be the job of the hostess....We ate in the restaurant because it was convenient, but nothing to write home about. Fine for sustenance, but not great. The clincher was the angry man in the coffee shop. My husband ordered a bagel and I stepped outside for a second and did not order with him. The guy had to go god knows where to throw his bagel into a toaster and came back 10 minutes later. At that time I told him I wanted a bagel, and he totally freaked. He actually said to me in a sarcastic tone..."KIDDO, you SHOULD have ordered with him"...um, I am 43, so maybe I should have been flattered ... And then he actually got in my husbands face and puffed up his chest because we expressed surprise at his weird reaction to a bagel request. I decided to forego the bagel....I did not know that toasting a bagel in a coffee/bagel shop was such a demanding request. There was no one else waiting or anything like that. He had nothing else to do. Totally crazy town this guy!!! The only thing I can guess is that for some reason the Inn will not buy the guy a toaster and he had to run to another kitchen simply to toast a bagel. Which would be annoying, but seriously, not my fault...My guess is the place is poorly managed or the manager is a jerk to the employees. Next time I wil stay at Treebones. We ate there twice after mediocre pricey meals at RP and it was a breath of fresh air. GREAT food, friendly people ready to offer advice about good hikes or things to do. This was completely absent at Ragged Point. Treebones also has a cliffside pool and hot tub..so I was doubly jealous when we checked it out. Next time, Treebones for sure. You may have to share a bath, but the amenities are better all around and the people were awesome there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,723 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
901 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing