We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Seals”
Review of Piedras Blancas

Piedras Blancas
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elephant Seals”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were amazed to see such a huge colony of elephant seals right on the beach along side of Highway 1. In April, there are hundreds of young males and females on the beach interacting. We want to come back in the winter when the 5000 pound males are there battling for mating rights and the females are giving birth to the "tiny" 100 pound pups.

Usually, you have to take a major excursion to see a "National Geographic" type of phenomena of nature. But here it is free and right along the side of the road. We'll definitely be back in the winter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    96
    19
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“December thru April-ish”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Elephant seals are still there. We weren't sure they would still be on the beach this late in the season. There were hundreds of them rolling about. The young males are trying to learn how to spar, while the rest of the group lays about molting. Great picture opportunity. The parking lot is easy to find, and there are paths with hand rails to protect the children from getting too close to the animals. You will be within 50 feet of them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disapointed, website wasn't clear - Light house tour”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been disappointed before but this was one that I could have avoided. I wasn't looking for a tour I was looking to photograph the area around the light house perhaps with the light house in it only to be turned down with closed signs and trails that were blocked. The tours are limited on which days and times they run. What is NOT listed on the website is that the area is COMPLETELY closed if you are not on the tour. "Access to Piedras Blancas is only by guided tour on certain days" Is on their website but I believed that to be the light house itself but not the surrounding area. Thus we could not get close. It was upsetting considering we drove for hours to find a particular spot and believe it is near the light house. Shame. - Also area, beaches and trails, dogs are not allowed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seals”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth the stop. You can stop for 5 minutes or watch the seals for hours. We hung out for an hour just before sunset and I had to drag my kids back to the car. They were equally fascinated with the squirrels who followed them around thinking they might get some food. I took about 100 amazing pictures of the seals. Some were sun bathing, some swimming, some playing and some getting bossy with each other.

Helpful?
Thank Kim9273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take the Lighthouse Tour!!!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a wonderful 2 hour tour...very organized and informative. The grounds and the outbuildings are very interesting. Lovely day overall!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedras Blancas also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Piedras Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing