We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Simeon
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Hearst Castle
from $159.00
More Info
from $144.00
More Info
from $129.00
More Info
Reviews (6,679)
Filter reviews
6,679 results
Traveler rating
4,145
1,707
549
180
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,145
1,707
549
180
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand rooms tour visitor center neptune pool indoor pool the cottages upstairs tour tour guide basic tour casa grande the kitchen mr hearst the main house minute film multiple tours night tour first time visitors dining room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 6,679 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 2 tours with a couple of hours inbetween but they were able to move them closer together. The place is run by efficient staff, like a well oiled machine. Defnitely worth the money, although if it is the off season, buy your tickets whenyou get there since the extra fee for online booking ($8 per ticket, if I remember correctly) is a bit outrageous.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank wjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views, The Art, the pools, The detail - All of it was absolutely amazing - One of the most beautiful places I have ever been able to experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JennDaym0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made a decision whilst taking a road trip along Highway 1 to read up about Hearst Castle and having done so, it was a must seen stop for us. We booked online and chose our preferred time and date for our visit and paid $25 dollars each for the tickets. We picked an early start time and it turned out to be the correct decision before too many people started arriving into the gardens. We arrived a little early and the helpful visitor centre staff asked if we would like to join the earlier party which was just about to leave. You take a short, but quite demanding drive on one of their old buses up the very private long winding road to the Castle/House. There is clear information and commentary on the bus. Once arrived we had a very young and knowledgeable guide who explained the History of this opulent, yet quirky, sometimes beautiful, often ugly property. It really is a must see, even if you just absorb yourself in the history, the ties to media publication and Mr. Hearst’s passion to entertain, especially actors, politicians etc. The logistics of how it was constructed, where the artefacts were sourced and the brilliance of a female architect.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Reacher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved all three tours and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys looking at castles/homes where furniture of the time is included. The guides were awesome and told you stories of the inhabitants and their guests. Everything was beautiful and its hard to believe one man could be so wealthy to have such a place with all its antiquities. My only negative is there is a limited time in each room and there is so much to see!! We had reserved tickets before we went but the lady at the ticket booth helped us rearrange them as I didn't know the ride up takes almost 15 min and I was coming down for lunch between tours. NOTE--you can bring a bottle of water--wish someone would have told us as we did all 3 tours in a row and even though there are water fountains they were warmer. Recommend they sell a bundle ticket as they know the timing required between the tours.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank gne4thewkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tour ok. Architecture to jarring for me. I cane away with a pit in my stomach at the caucphony of styles.
BUT what was really awful Is that you spend a lot of money and the 45 minute movie is included. They only allow you in at perfect timing. Or you wait an hour for next movie. Very unfriendly customer service.
They give a bogus reason of people falling. I refused to buy one more thing at their overstocked restaurant, gift shop, and art gallery. CA PARK should be embarrassed

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank susaninstlouis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews