We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Hearst Castle

Hearst Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Full-Day Small-Group Hearst Castle Adventure from Paso Robles
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It took 28 years to complete William Randolph Hearst's lavish estate, which includes 165 rooms on 125 acres.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I last toured the Castle over 10 years ago and I believe I did the Great Rooms Tour. This time I did the Upstairs Rooms tour. Absolutely incredible tour and grounds. Really enjoyed seeing all the bedrooms, personal areas, office and library. The indoor pool and outside areas are stunning. Even the winding road to the Castle is breathtaking.

Helpful?
1 Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,264
    1,421
    471
    156
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and full of history”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Loved seeing the history of the castle. Gorgeous grounds and incredible art. The actual tours themselves are not the 45mins-hour as stated on the reservation site. You line up to ride a bus at your tour time, it take 15 mins to ride up to the top, where you stand and wait for your group to form. I'd say the actual tour part was only 20-30mins. They then let you walk around the grounds exploring the outside. Definitely a must see in Central California coast

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank spntrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“UPSTAIRS ROOMS TOUR WAS TERIFFIC”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

You will see much more than Grand Rooms tour. I was surprised at how much was included. Guest rooms, Hearst's personal suite of rooms, it was great. We did the 5:00 tour and there were only 8 of us total.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank millervc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
489 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“One and done. Worth a look.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a place to stop in for a bit. It wasn't beautiful and excessive. I do have to say that this is one of those places that you to once and then you don't need to go again because there is only so much to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excess that never disappoints”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had visited a couple times before, but as I was driving up the coastal highway decided to stop. Be sure not to miss the film in the Imax type theater as it is really well done and gives you a good background on Hearst and the building. I've been to Europe several times since I last visited and I think I appreciated the decor more than in the past. Although Mr. Hearst didn't decorate as much as he acquired. The visitor center is designed to handle a real crowd of people and the buses up and down to the 'castle' are run efficiently.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MeredithMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearst Castle also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hearst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing