We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pay for what you get”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed one night at San Simeon Lodge and I would have to say that the price matched the quality. Ok, the room is tired and the ensuite in need of a face lift, but our room was clean and tidy and the cheapest accommodation that we have encountered on our trip so far. Our room overlooked the ocean and was bright. The thermostat heating came in handy as the temperature plummeted. The restaurant was convenient as was the store and the heated outdoor pool was an unexpected bonus that excited our children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SickofBadService2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 821 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Pleasant motel with lovely view. Very clean and rooms well equiped. Food at the restaurant was expensive and breakfast was not included in the tariff. The little town of Cambria, about four miles away was lovely and definitely worth visiting.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank country-baggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife stayed for 1 night for an early departure up to Hearst Castle. Our room was clean and spacious and we slept well after a long drive from Reno. The value of the room was as good as the French toast that we had for breakfast and would stay there again over and over.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank dcraigb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

An older hotel that was clean and reasonably well maintained. Nothing fancy, but we had a second floor room with a view of the ocean. Good value for the money. Restaurant served a good breakfast. Very close to Hurst Castle.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for view if you don't mind stairs. Northern buildings are away from poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deano65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so it's a tired motel - that's for certain. Yes, the beds are reasonable and the shower pretty much works. But, and here's that but, with the amount of alternative lodgings in the immediate area I really think San Simeon Lodge need to do something to up their game.

I'm not sure if it was the hair in the bath, the unbelievably noisy in-room fridge, the flatter than flat pillows or the 50 sugars to 2 coffee sachets (no tea, no hot chocolate) that got me feeling disgruntled about my stay. It may have been the non-working fan in the very hot room, I just can't be sure.

If you're not fussy and just want a bed for the night at a decent (ish) price, this will do. If you want something a little more - shop around.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Needs a visit from Anthony Melchiorri. Clean, which is nice, but very tired looking. Half finished improvements to the deck and railing. Carpet on the stairs is torn and an obvious trip hazard. The shower had very low pressure and little hot water. While it sits back away from the road, the neighbors behind the hotel had peacocks which made up for the lack of road noise. Sorry to say, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LynchmobMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Yes the motel is old, but rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good. We went to the bar for karaoke and had a great time. Lots of locals, Elvis came around and personally greeted everyone. Staff is friendly. This is a 5 star 2 star lodge.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Corrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,884 reviews
0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
631 reviews
3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $50 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing