We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Far better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stopped for an overnight stay and looked for a cheap place near the Hearst Castle. I read some review saying that better stay in Cambria, but after sleeping in San Simeon I must disagree. The location is fine, 10 minutes to Cambria for dinner, 3 minutes to the Beach and 5 minutes to Hearst Castle, and 10 min to the Elephant Seal Rookery (don't miss!).

The hotel is clean, staff friendly and helpful and it has a Mini-Mart (open late), a bar and a restaurant. And you get a 10% discount for the restaurant, ideal for the breakfast (which is not included in the price). The room a small, and only some has views. We overlooked the pool, which was fine.

I believe that this hotel must be fantastic in summer, but I guess that the price and availability also changes. We paid in December less than $60 for the room (that makes me give them top rating considering what we got for it).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    278
    210
    73
    40
See reviews for
183
324
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

when we check in on nov 24, 2013 like 4:10p. nobody was there until after we look around, and then somebody was there. and the guy didnt even greet us or smile to us. he is not rude but we dont expect people like them...after handling our key card i mention that our room was on d first level and d guy said we only have one level... so when we r approaching to our room i told my boyfriend he lied...all d rooms r a 2 story ...when we reach our room we are looking of d wifi code. so i told my boyfriend to call the front desk... so he called d operator and was told,in a rude way that it was on the paper that we made a copy of. so we look the paper again and we dont find anything about it...so my boyfriend when up front and the bartender told him where it was d pass word.... the people in d restaurant where awesome, kind and nice....Sincerely yours, Los Angeles

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leobun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean comfortable room. Good bed. we had ocean view, although there are some rooms around the pool. Motel is on the inland side of hey 1 but some rooms have clear view of beach. Friendly staff. In room fridge & microwave. Attached restaurant is a bit expensive for what it is but the food was good. Clam chowder not so much. I'd come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The San Simeon Lodge certainly had reasonable rates for our November visit. As well it should have. Our room was clean but very cramped. The tiny table and two chairs wedged in between the sliding glass door and bed were as good as useless. The motel was surely less than 20% occupied, but concentrated guests rather than spreading them out. So we had a loud party going on overhead our room--we've no objection to people having fun, but guests could have easily been spread out across the large motel to assure privacy and quiet.

The restaurant was an absurd mismatch to the basic family motel. Dinners were high priced and the menu more suitable to a better class of lodging. We were the only people in the dining room on a Friday night, which made me wonder how any item on the extensive menu could possibly be fresh. We opted out of dinner and had a beer in the bar and pretzels in our room.

San Simeon in general is neither pleasant or welcoming, it consists only of a long row of motels on a frontage road adjacent to Highway 1. South a few miles is Cambria, definitely a tourist town, but attractive and much more comfortable and welcoming than San Simeon.

I definitely don't recommend San Simeon Lodge or the town itself. It is a real letdown for folks who have traveled south through beautiful Big Sur. Keep driving!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The bed was fairly uncomfortable and the furniture is old, but everything was very well kept and cleaned. This really is a decent place to stay at the cost. Pool was closed for the season, which was silly because it was hot out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cholestria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for a night while driving along highway 1. The staff was great, the value was great and there is everything you need. Laundromat, shop to buy washing powder, restaurant. Very relaxing and a nice spacious room with a good bathroom. It was all very clean and we paid so little for what we got. Eric the receptionist was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Everyone working there seemed honest and genuine. The restaurant was ok, nothing fantastic and a bit overpriced but we got a 10% discount which I thought was a nice gesture. We had a good night sleep on a comfortable bed. Very happy guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danygirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I haven't paid as little for a restful night's sleep in as long as I can remember. Our room was very clean, full of amenities, the bed very comfy, and the property was quiet with a nice ocean view to wake up to. Check-in was friendly and they even upgraded us for no other reason than 'why not?'

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
5.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Property: San Simeon Lodge
Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing