We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a short stay”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice for a short stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We only spent a night here as a stopping point on a two day drive from San Diego to San Francisco. This is a smaller, "non-chain" motel that was one of the few places we could find for a Friday night with a family of five (most were booked or couldn't take five). When we got here I was nervous to see the family reunion that a previous poster talked about as I have been places where these kinds of groups dominate the motel. Having said that, Joel, the manager in charge when we checked in, had made a big deal about their "quiet hours" policy so we decided to chance it. The group was a nice, loud, family reunion right up until the quiet hours but then went in so we had the piece we needed so kudos to the hotel for advertising such a policy and to the family group for following it)

The room was surface clean - no obvious stains and the kids white socks stayed white after running around the room for an hour or so. There was a strange odor in the room that might be mistaken for mildew or mold until you realize it had a bit of a chemical smell to it. If I had stayed more than one night that might have started bothering me, but we simply opened up the windows and tried to keep the fresh air moving.

We had a second story room overlooking the pool and small sliver of the ocean. It was very pleasant and not too far from the parking lot.

We are used to travelling with a food box to feed the kids breakfast in the room so the lack of a free breakfast wasn't a deal breaker for us.

Joel and his front desk staff were responsive to needs and clearly working hard to keep this place running at a balance of cleanliness/quality and cost. We saw him late on Friday night and early on Saturday morning so I appreciate how hard he was working!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IA-CS-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    296
    226
    77
    41
See reviews for
200
342
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the San Simeon Lodge for one night in June. We were travelling down from SF to LA on Highway 1. We didn't book ahead or book via the Internet. We just drove up and asked for a room. Naturally, the rate we got ($129) wasn't that good. Here are some of the pros/cons:

+ Awesome location, right on the Highway 1, with access to the Pacific Ocean in a 2 minute walk
+ The newer rooms are quite nice (room numbers 100-110, and 200-210, I guess. We stayed in 110)
+ Everything is clean and it feels new: Clean bathroom, shower, beds.
+ There are lots of towels, much more than you need.
+ There are two warm blankets per bed, and one thinner one.
+ Chairs outside the rooms, so you can sit there, drink a beer and watch the sunset (Awesome!)
+ Free wifi (although not so fast)

- No free breakfast
- The pillows are a little hard, the bed is comfy though.
- A little noisy upstairs: If you stay on the ground floor, you can hear the people above you walking around (try to get a room with room number 200-210)

We liked the hotel very much and we would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are quite nice (room numbers 100-110, and 200-210). They are usually a bit more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There are so many things I liked about the San Simeon Lodge that it would be hard to say it all here. There were 30 of us and we had 13 rooms. The hotel staff was fantastic. We had all our family activities (except the Hearst Castle) right there on the grounds. Grass, pool, beach, bar, restaurant and minimart who could ask for anything more. We are looking forward to our next visit. Thanks Joel and staff for making it a great weekend!!

Room Tip: We had upper and lower rooms looking out at the pool. Room numbers 114-120 and 215-219. Oh and becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammaof20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The wifi was not good. Said it worked but was really bad, and didn't conect for all in our group. The bed was really good, big and soft, one of the best ones. At night it was really cold, and no heating in the room. And the showers were tricky and the pressure was bad.. Over all good, but just a few things as you see.
We also got 10% off tickets for the breakfast, but the waiter just ignored that.....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is very reasonablly priced. The room showed signs of wear, but it was clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Though it doesn't matter to me, be advised that there is no bath tub (at least not in my room) only a shower.
Our room had a nice view of the ocean and a table and chairs right outside the front door. The grounds are spacious with a restaurant and conveience store on the property. It is only about 3 miles from Hearst Castle. The next time I go back to the castle I will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My fiance and I stopped in San Simeon on our way up to Big Sur. We booked San Simeon Lodge because of their pet friendly policy. We had a spacious room and it didn't smell like pets at all and our dog was happy. We had a hilarious time at their bar which has karaoke. All in all, a good pet friendly option in San Simeon for the room rate. Bring your own pillow if you're particular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

very swift and efficient check in, no fuss. nice size rooms and bed, and as I said soft cost bedlinen, in an excellent location particularly to visit hearst castle. would not hesitate to recommend this place for a stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Property: San Simeon Lodge
Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing