We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a good price”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in San Simeon for 1 night to break up the journey from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara and were pretty happy with the place. The rooms were a good size and were clean. We got an ocean view room, which could just be seen on the other side of HWY 1! The restaurant on site is a little pricey for the quality of the food and we wish we had looked around first, as there are a few other restaurants within walking distance. The only downside, as with most motels in the US, NO KETTLE!! The guy working in the small shop on site let me have a cup of hot water for free though, so I could get my tea fix, so all was forgiven!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpoconn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 811 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night after our tour of Hearst Castle. Great price and nice clean room. Very comfortable and quiet.
Shower was a little small and water would go from hot to cold all on its own!! Bathroom window opened to walk way so people could look right in!!
This was a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

OK place for a night or two, the room was comfortable & OK, with coffee making facilities, fridge, TV, air con, etc, etc. The bathroom had a small shower cubicle which was fun - sometimes the water was hot, and sometimes cold, without touching any controls! Our room looked into the central area with the pool. There was, at a guess, 20% of rooms that had a seaview which have been nice, but no complaints. The room was clean enough, but we checked for any left personal items under the bed and it had not been cleaned for a long time!
The pool was OK, but I guess because of US health & safety it looked like a prison cage!
We did not use the restaurant as it looked a bit like a canteen.
Overall great location on Route 1

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped here for one night before touring the Hearst Castle. It was pretty cheap, and for your money you get a nice comfortable bed in an immaculately clean room. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because the furnishings are a little outdated, but I would fully expect this for the excellent price we paid.
There are two convenience stores nearby for snacks, drinks etc.
The seats on the terrace outside were really nice for sitting back and watching the sun go down.
Tip: for a hearty lunch, try Sebastian's General Store just down the highway. Great food and HUGE portions.
Overall I thoroughly recommend staying here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the San Simeon Lodge for 1 night while traveling down PCH. The room was much bigger than we expected and very comfortable. There was a floor-to-ceiling window spanning the width of the room that provided natural light and a convenient mini-fridge. The bathroom was decently clean, I believe they re-used the shampoo and conditioner as the bottles were only half-full. The shower water alternated between hot and cold for the duration of the shower. Despite the inconsistent shower, the room was very comfortable and clean and I would definitely recommend it to visitors!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DovPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The room was good, everything was clean and well taken care of. Some of the things (tv and bedspread) were out-dated but strictly cosmetic. Great value! The location to Hearst Castle is very convenient, short 15-20 minutes in the car. I also appreciated the lounge/restaurant next to the lobby. They had some decent music playing at night and the next morning breakfast was pretty good. Nothing about this place is fancy but it's a great place to stay for a night or two - especially if you value a clean hotel room! And adjacent to the property is a liquor/convenience store, which I found to be extremely helpful. You can get some night time cocktail supplies and sodas/waters in the AM. The best part is you can walk there, no driving required!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty0398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was very leary of this motel based on its cost (we paid $89.00 per night on line w/ AAA). We traveled from San Fran to San Diego mostly on HW 1. We just wanted a spot to sleep, and found a pleasant surprise. The setting is beautiful, nice view; I think it would be exceptional if you had a second floor room. We had chairs and a small table outside our first floor rm to sit and enjoy. The rm had a weird lay out. The front half had a queen bed, dresser, TV, fridge, table and chairs plus the closet.In the back there was an alcove/small rm that had another queen bed The bath was right off that small rm. The teenagers loved this set up, almost like having their own rm. This was the ONLY hotel/motel in our ten day journey that actually gave us 4 sets of towels to start. Check in staff was great.

Make no mistake this is a MOTEL. It was clean, you could move around the rm- due to the layout) the beds were comfortable, the shower was on the small side and old. The water pressure was good and the bathroom itself was a good size. We did not have any problem with noise either from other guests or the highway. I am sensitive to highway noise so this was wonderful. An early morning walk on the beach across from the motel made this a very nice stay. There is a small pool, a store is on the front of the property plus the restaurant.

We went to Cambria just down the road for dinner and breakfast. Dinner at Medusas Mexican Restaurant on Main St Cambria was a great find.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,803 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $65 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing