We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can tell someone cares about the property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands By The Sea Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sands by the Sea Motel for an entire week. It was clean, quiet, and obviously looked well cared for. The linens and amenities were above average for the price we paid. Everyone we encountered was courteous and professional. Carlos at the front desk was quite charming in his own way. The pool is indoors so even if it was cold outside, the kids could enjoy a swim. There is a fridge and microwave for added convenience. There is a restaurant next door at a place called the Cavalier, and a liquor store right across the road. Overall, we found good value at the Sands and would stay there again when we visit San Simeon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs and you can peek at the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

After unsuccessfully attempting to reserve a room at the Best Western Cavalier, the BW representative suggested the Sands. Turns out both properties are under the same ownership. The Sands is an older property. The rooms are appointed with: small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and small TV. There aren't enough outlets to plug in all of the appliances at one time. There is no hair dryer. There is a baseboard heater and a heat lamp in the bath. Our room appeared to have once had a VCR or DVD player, now an empty hole gapes in the wooden stand above the TV. There is no closet; a single wooden shelf hangs on the wall above a clothes rack, with a folding luggage stand below. We made the mistake of placing a small piece of luggage on the shelf, the bottom of which was literally coated in a thick layer of dust when we retrieved it.

The bed linens are clean, but the bath towels have a funny smell. Shampoo, lotion and bar soaps are provided. Internet service is available.

Our room looks like the photos provided by npphotog from 2009. This hotel is right near the beach and you can utilize the firepits that are lit at the Cavalier next door.

Wish I'd read some reviews before just booking a room here when we couldn't get in at the Cavalier!

Room Tip: There are no ocean views, but the rooms at one end have a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mom2twins1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were passing through and decided to stay here because it was dark out. Right when you open the door with key and not a card key. It smelled like cigarettes, it is outdated. It's a big room, small shower, low toilet. The pillows were comfy and the bed. The heater makes crackling sounds when you turn it on, which keeps you up. The pool was great, except it was a bit chilly. The service was great as well, as the location if you had to stay here. I would of tried another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We arrived in the afternoon to find a locked motel. After repeated contacts on a buzzer system by the front door, 40 minutes elapsed before someone came to check us in. No apology was given, and the general demeanor of the owner was that he was busy doing other things and that he was doing us a favor by letting us stay there. The motel was not full, and even though the motel was advertised as having an ocean view, we were given a dingy room overlooking the main road through town. The odor in the room was indescribable so we threw all the windows open even though it was frigid outside. The coffee pot was broken, the heating system didn't work--need I say more. The only saving feature was that the king bed seemed clean although the remainder of the room needed work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

That's what this motel was all about for us. Somewhere to rest and freshen up after a busy day out touring on the coast. No bells, whistles or thrills just a friendly staff and clean room. Breakfast at the hotel next door was average to good. As in my previous review the Mexican down the road is awful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knot_Today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were so looking forward to our stay in San Simeon. Unfortunately we will not be returning ever again!!! The Hotel was terrible, the room was smelly, and cramped, and noisy. I made the reservation months ahead and yet our room was right opposite the storage building-with the noise of the mechanical units coming through our window all night. The restaurant we went to for dinner was terrible, and the gas station we went to charged an exorbitant amount!! The person at the front desk did not tell us that the office was closed in the morning. We wanted to pay cash for our stay, but it had to go on our credit card, the office door was locked in the morning!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellseeker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived here late at night and was met by a very friendly check in man who made us feel welcome instantly. He even directed us to the lodge across the road for late night food and drinks. We had a great night over there too! The room was huge! The bathroom was big too and had a good strong shower with nice complimentary products.
We stayed in a five star hotel in San Fran before this and sands by the sea was by far the better of the two. Everything was comfortable and we got a sound nights sleep.
Oh, and they have us a coupon for breakfast the next morning! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cardigan_kitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
918 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
545 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands By The Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands By The Sea Motel

Address: 9355 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: $87 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands By The Sea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands By The Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel San Simeon
Sands Motel San Simeon
Sands Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing