We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Hotel but reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands By The Sea Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Camano Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Older Hotel but reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We needed to spend a night in San Simeon before touring the Hearst Castle. Arriving in early evening, we used our Tripadvisor App on our iphone to locate a hotel. This one was rated fairly okay from previous travelers so we chose to follow their lead.

The gentleman running the motel was friendly and welcoming. It's an old motel so don't expect updated anything. The pool is enclosed but is exposed to the outside air via a breezeway. Our kids enjoyed the pool.

The room was a good size for the 5 of us. They did not have roll away beds so one of our sons slept on the floor. We "hijacked" an internet connection from the neighboring motel; I'm not sure there was internet available at our hotel.

Breakfast consisted of a voucher for a free sweet roll and coffee at the restaurant next door. We ended up using the option of applying the voucher towards $3 off our breakfast.

We slept well, it was quiet and comfortable overall. It's an old motel so as long as you're not expecting updated and new everything, you'll find this a good place to spend a night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ric4san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    107
    84
    15
    9
See reviews for
65
120
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sands by the Sea for one night while on a Pacific Coast Highway road trip. Even though we arrived early the extremely accommodating desk clerk allowed us to check in and showed us to our room. This place isn't fancy but it is clean and comfortable. It is situated in a very good location, just a couple of miles from the Hearst Castle and the elephant seal beach is only seven miles up the coast. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area attractions. On the down side, the free wifi didn't work for us and we were told by the staff that the wifi service was very sketchy. The Cavalier Restaraunt next door offers reasonably priced hearty meals.
Now here is the best part. I left a new pair of shoes behind in our room. I was two hundred miles away when I discovered the loss. I called the motel and the shoes were found and shipped to my home in New Jersey. How's that for service?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClydeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We had to stop here as it was getting late. I wouldn't recommend staying in San Simeon as a place, try and get to the Big Sur to stay overnight. San Simeon is a bit of a nothing place. Restaurants were not great but we had a night in and watched a movie.
Hotel good value and clean

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug528818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and simple - it met our needs and was very affordable. Though most of the rooms don't have an ocean view, the hotel is within very close walking distance to the beach - a couple of minutes away. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomFromColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

this place has been redone as of 2/2011 at least with new carpets and sheets/beds.
Plenty clean for 60 bucks. I guess its a lot more in June. This roadside town called San Simeon is just a collection of about 6 motels and at least 500 rooms. But the only food here is low grade stuff designed to sell to bus loads of Hearst Castle tourists, alot of whom are from Europe. Its surprising that there are no good cafes, there is plenty of people to support one. There is at least 1 in Cambria and some in Big Sur for sure. The Best Western
cafe is only fair and the other 2 /Big Sur California cafe and the Grill across the hwy from the BW/Cavilar are both lousy tourist boxes serving box food. Eat in Cambria or Morrow Bay.
And if you are going to the Hearst Castle it costs about 25$ per person. What a joke.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I booked Sands by the Sea after reading mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and comparing rates at the Best Western & others. I decided to save a few dollars. Like most, you get what you pay for.

I booked a reservation online, prepaid so I was not allowed to cancel without forfet. We arrived at the motel about 6:30 p.m on a Thursday with no other cars in the lot. The innkeeper was very friendly but didn't have our reservation. No problem in early Feb. with no one else there but would be a big problem in tourist season. Our room was an end unit on the second floor. We opened the door and a very musty smell hit us - hard. [ Maybe musty dog?] We opened all the windows to air it out but never got rid of it. From our rear windows, between 2 other motels, we had a clear veiw of the beach, ocean, firepit and sunset.

The room had 2 queen beds, a frig, microwave, & coffee maker. The beds were comfortable, the towels surprisingly white and fluffy with good soap. Although musty, everything seemed reasonably clean.

Unfortunately, the walls are very thin. We could hear our neighbors' conversation and laughing. Fortunately, they retired about the time we did and awoke about the same time; however, it could be noisy in a room with neighbors on both sides and/or above. The second night we did not have neighbors so it was nice and quiet.

The location is excellent on the beach side of the route 1. There are several inexpensive motels on the beach side, making it unnecessary to stay on the other side of the highway offseason. We walked a short distance to the beach in the evening, sitting in front of the firepit to keep warm & talking to other friendly tourists. Very pleasant and relaxing.

Hearst Castle is only 3 miles away & a must do. The elephant seals are breeding and the nature preserve is abt. 5 miles from the motel. We walked the length of the preserve, crowded with visitors, and found the trailhead to a coastal pathway open. We walked this path almost to the lighthouse, stopping at overlooks to view many beaches with elephant seals and great views of the coast line. There were very few people on this path making it a real treat. We also did the wine loop in Paso Robles, stopping at a couple wineries for tastings. This was a lovely route to drive and well worth a half day.

As mentioned in another review, the vouchers for breakfast at the adjacent Best Western are for coffee, o.j. and a Danish or $3 towards breakfast. One morning we did the Danish, the next morning we had breakfast which was very good and recommended. It's a cute place overlooking the beach, too.

Basically, the 3 of us stayed 2 nights in a relatively clean, comfortable room with a view of the ocean, convenient to the sites we wanted to visit for the price of 1 night at the BW, which made it a good deal for us. Before staying here again, I would compare prices to the other motels on the beach. If there isn't a big price difference, I might go with the BW which looked much nicer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

An older hotel with clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Hotel is on the beach side of highway and our room had partial view of the ocean. We were able to walk down the hill to access the beach and watch the sun go down over the ocean. Free Wi-Fi worked fine. Only disappointment was that voucher for breakfast at the Best Western Cavalier restaurant next door was only good for a coffee and a pastry or $3 rebate on full à la carte breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.0 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands By The Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands By The Sea Motel

Property: Sands By The Sea Motel
Address: 9355 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9750
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands By The Sea Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands By The Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands By The Sea Hotel San Simeon
Sands Motel San Simeon
Sands Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing