We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price!”
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room for the price!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at this older motel in late November. It was very easy to find with quick check-in and friendly service. The large, comfy room had an awesome, new super-comfy pillow-top bed - best night sleep of our 7 day trip! The pillows were sltly hard but adequate (we like soft, flat ones :o). WiFi was a bit slow; standard budget towels; low water pressure in the toilet but adequate hot water temp and pressure for the shower. Some noise from overhead room - walking - but overall quiet and very clean room with a coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Breakfast included waffles (my husband's favorite :o), 2 kinds of cereal, 5 choices of pastries, coffee, tea, milk, juices. Probably the only thing I'd like to see added: a clothing hook in the bathroom. Otherwise, this was a GREAT motel for the price with a great location - right by Hearst Castle and the beach although we didn't have time to stay and play much. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coppergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    216
    138
    30
    23
See reviews for
131
249
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

somewhat aged exterior and design so I was bracing myself...happily surprised! absolutely spotless rooms, comfy bed, lots of hot water. Small bathroom, perfectly adequate. Quiet room fridge, a blessing.
Arrived just after sundown, so the ocean only a glimmer from our room, top floor, ocean side. Enjoyed the open window at night, as surf a distance murmur.
Cons: thin walls, could hear the neighbours (and probably vice versa!) . Outdoor breakfast patio was chilly as damp winds blew - no lingering over morning coffee, sigh.

For sure one of the best values on the coastal drive!

Room Tip: Room 123 is top floor, peek a boo view of ocean (over adjacent housing tract).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This San Simeon "strip" on Highway 1 is not the prettiest place on this trip - (but the old fishing village a little further on, opposite the Hearst Castle road is definitely worth a visit)
Sea Breeze had a passable welcome from the lady on duty, no better the next morning when we arrived down for breakfast. Our room was quiet, large, clean and equipped with everything you would expect. Added to which there was a good sea view & with the window open, the sound of the ocean. At such a bargain price, what's not to like? Well it's probably the breakfast experience.

Breakfast - just OK but we did like the waffle maker! However the room is cramped with nowhere to sit & difficult to serve yourself with guests milling around in such a small area. Sitting outside is the only viable option but be prepared to wrap up very well on a breezy Oct morning!
Juices/ coffee etc ran out regularly with no one in sight most of the time to replenish them. Someone came in at 9.25 (breakfast finished at 9.30) & were ushered out as they were "too late" !

This place could be so much better & charge significantly more if it added a sun lounge/ conservatory at the back to eat breakfast & this would mean more room to set out the food. Just a thought.

If you want a quick & cheap stopover near the Castle don't be put off by the breakfast review.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably best for view & quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tone1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Location is just off main road. Stayed in room 126 on second floor which provided a view of the ocean. It was a short walk to the beach. The room was large and nicely decorated. You could open the windows which allowed us to leave them open during the night and hear the waves hitting the beach.. The bathroom was very nice althought it had limited counter space. There was a small space in the lobby that provided a variety of free breakfast items that allowed you to quickly get back on the road and held you over until lunch time. The Inn was only about 2 miles away from Hearst Castle. We would definetly stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drichabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Based on reviews I had read, we were pleasantly surprised. Room on 2nd floor was spacious and had a great a view. Francisco at the desk seemed to be always on duty, was very friendly, and was a great help w/directions. Inside breakfast area was small; however, plenty of room on patio (not so good if the weather is cold or raining). Minutes from Hearst. Would definitely stay there again. Although there are no elevators, the stairways are very wide and it wasn't that difficult to pull the suitcases up (I'm 73). As to the breakfast area, we did eat inside at the lounge chairs. A bit uncomfortable but well worth the waffles and such! Short walk to beach.

Room Tip: Go for the farthest (away from office) on 2nd floor. View won't be blocked by townhouses and suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulSr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Breeze Inn for just one night on our drive up the coast from Santa Monica to San Fransisco. Checkin was no fuss & friendly. Our room was very clean & quite spacious, I think the bathroom had recently been renovated & it was pleasant to have a large window that opened to allow us to listen to the distant ocean. The bed was very comfortable.
We chose this property because of it's location, we had tickets for the first tour of the day at Hearst Castle.
My only criticism of Sea Breeze Inn was the breakfast, which was included in our tariff, not so much the food offering but the seating arrangements. The breakfast bar was set up in a corner of the reception area & the only seating was in a small courtyard outside. At 8.00am the tables & chairs were still covered in dew & no attempt had been made by staff to dry any of them, a very wet towel was being passed around by fellow guests in an attempt to secure a dry spot to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night--we had a night tour booked at Hearst Castle, which is just a few minutes away. The room was good sized, and it was very clean. For the price, it was a good bargain, and the room was very spacious. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room as well as a coffee maker. The walls are a little thin, so I could hear noise (snoring and talking) from the next room. There were sliding windows on the ocean side, and it was great to be able to get fresh air all night. The breakfast wasn't much to write home about, but it was just fine for our needs. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future. There are several restaurants in the area and also a nice area nearby where one can view elephant seals on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBT36942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,684 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
590 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Property: Sea Breeze Inn
Address: 9065 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9723
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing