We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Value”
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprising Value”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Since we were traveling on the off season, I knew prices would be better than usual, but the low price encouraged a two night stay instead of a rushed, one night. The high placement on this site because of traveler reviews was more encouragement to give them a try.

After the long drive, the easy to spot sign was a relief. Though the sign was dated, it was large and welcoming. The beautiful flowers in the front and the neat exterior with sweet, non-corporate appearing decorations reminded me of the older, yet well-cared for hotels in the Napa Valley area.

The lobby was tiny, and we could immediately see where the mini breakfast was served. There was a small patio adjacent to the lobby. Next to the patio was about an acre of grass, then some new houses, and beyond that was the ocean.

After a long walk down the less than attractive, outside, covered hallway, I opened up the door to a large, delightful room. Much like a newer Best Western, the room's furnishing felt substantial and new. There was a king sized bed with a down-alternative comforter underneath a protective spread. A large, flat screened TV, a microwave, a coffee maker, and about a 3 cubic foot fridge. The room felt like it was about 300 to 400 sq feet.

The room was noisy, though. Not terribly so, but enough to remind me I was in an older motel. Though the bed was new and well made, it was too hard for me. The pillows were hard and thin. The toiletries consisted of two itsy bitsy slivers of bad soap and adequate shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The cups were styrofoam, which I hate, and thin clear cups for water. The breakfast was a choice of bread to toast, little pastries (none by the time I got there at 8 am), two types of cereal (neither heavily sugared), juices and milk. The bed was too hard for me and the pillows too thin and hard.

Still, this is a great value choice. I like the location and it was a pleasant, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyPureheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    216
    138
    30
    23
See reviews for
131
248
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Basically, this is a very nice 2 star property, and our stay was pleasant. Good value for the price, and our room was spotless, which is most important to us....we are here for the scenery, not the hotel stay. There is no restaurant on site, but many within walking distance, and most are attached to other hotels. The walls are VERY thin, so bring earplugs. If you get a ground floor room (our request), expect to hear every footstep on the creaky floor above. It is by no means luxurious, but we did not expect that, and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: If stairs are not an issue, stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed one night on our way home to Canada from Palm Springs. Nice clean room with a view of the ocean.Basic Continental breakfast. Bath towels could have been bigger but would not stop us from staying here again. Minutes from Hearst Castle and a short walk to the beach. Would recommend this place for anyone travelling through and wanting to spend some time at the castle tour.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the top floor so we don't hear people walking above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutterman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the Hearst Castle. Small room, paper thin walls, dated, and a joke of a continental breakfast. Who knew they still had soap bars that size. If you're going to the castle, stay in Cambria 5 miles away. They appear to have much nicer places to stay. All that being said, the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillwaterMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel was good value for money. Rooms were pleasant and had a sea view which was unexpected. This is a tiny town that seems to be there just for tourists visiting Cambria Castle. Reception gave us a coupon for restaurant down the road. Would definitely recommend going there as had fantastic seafood pasta and prawn starter. Only downfall was that we could hear the person snoring next door. Not sure if walls are thin or he was just a really loud snorer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Not the prettiest motel, but convenient to the Castle, very clean and functional, and usually available at an extremely keen price - I booked this one via Priceline.
Breakfast is pretty basic and finishes promptly with no top-ups, so get in early if you want more than basic sugary cereals.
All in all, a simple place that has been upgraded and maintained to a very decent standard, upstairs rooms have especially good ocean views, a good place to stay before going on to see Hearst's masterpiece, and the elephant seals a few miles north.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a clean motel that is close to the Hearst Castle and right on the highway, this is the place. While the rooms do not face the ocean, you can see the ocean from your window (just past the condos). Only about 10 minutes from the Hearst Castle and right on Rt. 1. Free WIFI, muffins and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doogerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,679 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#5 of 10 in San Simeon
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Property: Sea Breeze Inn
Address: 9065 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9723
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing