We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden GEM on Hwy 1 in San Simeon!”

Sebastian General Store
Ranked #8 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sebastian's in Old San Simeon Village, across Highway 1 from the entrance to Hearst Castle, is a well-known casual eatery. Serving up the very best Heart Ranch burgers, salads and sandwiches - guests from all over can enjoy a bite to eat on the deck with an ocean view or inside the cafe with historic photographs of the Hearst Ranch and Castle. Our historic building has been a general store in the village since 1873 when Leopold Frankl opened one to sell supplies to whalers, miners, dairy farmers and those who transported products in or out by ship.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden GEM on Hwy 1 in San Simeon!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband & I went to Sebastian's Store on the recommendation of a friend who grew up in the area, and we were SO glad we did! Sebastian's is a State Historical Landmark and has been family owned since 1914. The building houses the town's Post Office, a General Store, and the Hearst Winery. Take a look at the wooden hatches in the floorboards and you'll see how old the building really is! They have a wide variety of sandwiches and burgers - if you don't see what you want, just ask them to make it up special for ya! The portions are HUGE and plentiful, as you'll see in our pics. The General Store has a variety of snacks, ice cream and sweets to enjoy there or take with you. The Hearst Winery has some very nice wines for tasting. Patrons can eat inside next to the Winery and Post Office, outside on the deck or in a tree covered clearing at picnic tables. Hearst Castle is directly across Hwy 1 and beach access is just a short drive down the road. Sebastian's is a hidden gem in Old San Simeon (the original part of the town), and a definite stop for us on any trip to the Central Coast!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“the sandwiches are HUGE”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

i thought the reviews on Tripadvisor weren't true when i read how big the sandwiches were at this place. holy cow, i nearly fell over when i opened my take away box! i ordered the salami and provolone and received two 6-inch sandwiches + chips + pickle. say what??? this was two meals for me. it was quite the value and really tasty. be sure to add red onion to this sandwich. it gave it a whole new dimension of flavor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An amazing burger”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stopped in after our tour at Hearst Castle because I had read their burgers were worth the trip. We were not disappointed. It's not gourmet, but it's pretty damn good. The store itself is really unique in that it's a cafe, wine tasting room, post office and general store. The prices were decent ($5-7 for a burger). Make sure you check out the original one-room school house.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Googlaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing like it!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

What a find! It is a true part of Old San Simoen Village history with great food and wine to go with the incredible setting. Definitely worth a visit. Their hamburger is my favorite....much better than Nepenthe. And the Hearst Ranch Wine is excellent. While we waited for the food we also had a wine tasting - you can't beat that.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mncsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good burgers if you are traveling PCH, but not a destination”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I am not sure why this place is listed as an attraction, when it is primarily a restaurant. As an "attraction" there is nothing to see. As a restaurant, it is worth a stop. This is definitely one of those places that you should try if you are visiting Hearst Castle or Piedras Negras... But is not worth a trip out of your way. The portions are enormous, the food is tasty, and when the weather is nice outside, a lovely atmosphere - part picnic, part roadside diner.
My wife and I split the double burger as we had heard about the portion sizes. It was perfect for two. The quality of the meat was excellent. The bun was delicious and the toppings were overflowing.
We were there on a beautiful day right at lunch time and our wait was only 8 mins.

Helpful?
1 Thank WilsonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian General Store also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sebastian General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing