We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The basics are all good: safe neighborhood, clean, good bed, and hot shower.

However, the details did not wow me. My first night, I had only one washcloth that I had to re-use in the morning, one bar of soap to share between the sink and tub, and my 6:30 wake up call did not ring. (All those things were fixed my second night.) Marriott seems to work much harder on cost cutting than enhancing the guest's experience. It lacks conveniences like a luggage rack and a magnifying mirror, so finding a place for your suitcase and good lighting to put on makeup or shave requires some guest ingenuity. Everything is acceptable, but nothing is exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the highway.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello:

I am writing to you in response to your posted comments regarding the Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon. I do appreciate you taking the time out to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We do apologize that the appropriate amenities were not in your room upon your arrival. I have shared your comments with our entire team. Your comments truly make a difference.

We try very hard to provide excellent customer service, and in your case, it appears that we fell short of that. Again, we do apologize for that. We all really do take great pride in our newly renovated hotel and Bistro restaurant, and we would love to see you back here again.

Thank you again, and we hope that you give us another opportunity to WOW you with our services.

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

stayed there for 3 nights. they were quite full and the only room available was a handicap room. the room was clean but it started off badly when the key did not open the door and it took 3 times to get one that did.
the toilet seemed to self flush and at 2am that is not a good thing. and it kept happening over the 3 days. random toilet flushing in the early morning hours is way beyond annoying

the staff did remove $50 from the bill for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello:

Thank you for taking time to write a response regarding your most recent visit to our hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon. I do appreciate your comments. We do apologize for the fact that you were awoken in the night. We have looked into this issue, and we have made the appropriate adjustments . I am pleased to see that we were able to compensate you for your inconvenience. Rest assured, your comments are listened to here among our staff. We do take them seriously, and we do appreciate you bringing them to our attention. It is guests like you who help us to make a difference.

Again, I apologize for the inconveniences that you incurred. Thank you again for your comments.

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a no-frills hotel, but still quite nice. The staff are friendly and very service-oriented. My daughter and I had to stay here while waiting for our tenants to vacate our home. While 'there is no place like home,' it's not too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the West side don't have the 680 freeway noise, but still have noise from San Ramon...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglepose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello:

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a response regarding our hotel. We certainly do learn from our guests, so your comments are truly valuable to us. We are pleased that you chose our hotel as your temporary home away from home! Please think of us for your visiting friends and family as well. We would love to host your travel needs in the future!

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Accidentally found a really nice rate for our stay Thur-Sunday nights (under $100, required pre-payment). Visiting from out of state, and this was the perfect "base" to go everywhere, as it is centrally located to the highways (I drove). Our room faced San Ramon Blvd (not 680), so we had absolutely no freeway noise. I don't think we even really noticed noise from neighboring rooms or even from the hall (we were pretty close to the elevators). Comfy comfy beds, and the rooms were fantastic. Just note that their prices are actually a lot higher on the weekDAYs..
Had breakfast a couple of times in the Bistro downstairs, and the food was surprisingly good! The pool is a bit small, but kids still liked it. I liked it because it's on the east side of the hotel, and gets "shaded" in the afternoon so my kids didn't need any sunscreen!

I would definitely stay here again on the weekend rates, but the weekday rates are a bit tough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamlym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time out to review our hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon. Our associates do take pride in our hotel, and it is great to hear that others think the same way. We are very lucky to have a newly renovated hotel, with a our new Bistro restaurant, to serve our guests both in the am and pm hours. I am so glad that you liked our "home away from home". We hope to see you again soon.

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have been to the Courtyard in Pleasant Hill and it was pretty darn good on pricing, but it lack the newly remodeled renovation, But I now see on your pictures of the recent change at Courtyard in San Ramon and it's looks great!!
My question to you is now that you are remodeled your prices are much higher, which is a big disappointment. We wanted to book a room at your hotel for our daughter's wedding from August 22 to the 25th, 2012, since they will be getting ready and staying there before the wedding. They are actually getting a reduce rate because of the venue they are using for their wedding. Come to find out we "the parents of the Bride" could book a room, BUT.... for around $200/night Unfortunately: We are away from our daughter (Bride) and staying at ExtendStay 3 blocks for about first 2 nights for $100/night and 3rd night is even less? Why doesn't Courtyard offer "the parents of the Bride or Groom" special rates?? Yet your rates drop down under $100 for the next weekend of 29th-1st?? How disappointing you have become :-(

Room Tip: Always use TripAdvisor... They have real people with real reviews and advise.
Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Blurosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello:

I do apologize for the late response to your review. Your concern was about our rates. We truly have not taken any increases due to our renovation. We do, however, have different pricing on our weekdays vs. our weekends. The demand in San Ramon is heavier on our weekdays, therefore our rates our reflective of our demand. Our weekend rates may fluctuate due to the demand on our weekends, but they are still very competitive with the neighboring hotels. We do offer group rates as well on both weekdays and weekends. The weekend of August 24-26 is one of the busiest weekends of the year, so at the time of your reservation request, we may not have had any available discounts available. If you were calling for a weekday night, yes our rate is higher than our weekend nights. Our weekend rates are honored Thursday (if you stay a Friday) Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (if you stay a Saturday) nights. Please come back and see us again. I do feel that you will find our rates to be very competitive for the area, and we are the lowest priced Marriott in the area as well. I do appreciate your comments, and if you would like to discuss anything further, I would be happy to assist you.

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Courtyard in San Ramon. We travel as a family so some of the things that matter to us might not be as important to a business traveler. We like a pool, free wifi, a park that we can walk to and of course a clean room. The San Ramon Courtyard checked all those boxes. It was very close to a BART station for trips into San Francisco. It was close to some places to eat. Location was right next to the freeway which caused a little bit of freeway noise. Tip-put a white noise app on you iPad and listen to "rain" rather than freeway traffic. It was a very nice stay with a great staff. The rooms and lobby have just been refurbished. We paid under $100 a night for our stay. I wrote more about some of the local things we found on our family's travel blog: http://worldfamilytravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello:

Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a nice review for our hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon. Our team here really takes pride in our hotel, and it is nice that our renovation, service, and location were pleasing to you. We do appreciate the kind words.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

For the price we paid, (under $100 per night), this hotel stay was a great deal! Hotel room was very clean and spotless! Bath towels are not 4-5 star hotel standard (very thin) but was okay.
We were visiting our family in San Ramon and found the hotel location was close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank River Grill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanramon1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Hello:

Thank you so much for taking time out to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We are an exceptional value for the Tri Valley Area, and being fully renovated only a few months ago, really helps to add to that great value.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking time out to write your opinion regarding our hotel.

Linda Robles
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Ramon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
1.6 mi away
HYATT house San Ramon
HYATT house San Ramon
#1 of 8 in San Ramon
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Ramon Marriott
San Ramon Marriott
#2 of 8 in San Ramon
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Ramon
Residence Inn San Ramon
#3 of 8 in San Ramon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Danville Sycamore Inn
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pleasanton
Residence Inn Pleasanton
#7 of 14 in Pleasanton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon

Address: 18090 San Ramon Valley Blvd, San Ramon, CA 94583-4405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Ramon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range: $116 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Ramon Hotel San Ramon
Courtyard San Ramon
San Ramon Courtyard
San Ramon Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing