We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good prices.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Depot Garden Restaurant
Ranked #97 of 230 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good prices.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Depot Garden has a nice outdoor patio. It has a good menu and a lot of variety. I enjoy the vegie burger with sweet potato fries and eggs benedict. It can get busy, so you might have to wait and I hope you believe it was worth the wait. Service is good and very friendly. If you are in San Rafael, check it out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
No. San Diego County
Level Contributor
137 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Dog friendly - awesome hashbrowns!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a really great breakfast at the Depot Garden. We arrived around 9:30am on a Saturday morning, and had no trouble getting a table on the patio (my daughter brought her dog). The staff personally came out to visit with the puppy and offered him a bowl of water. So nice! Fresh squeezed OJ was awesome. I had the special which was a dungeoness crab benedict. So delicious. The hollandaise sauce was very light and tangy. By far THE BEST hash browns we've ever had!

We will definitely be back. Service was really good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sulphursister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the worst places I've eaten in a long time!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My weekly lunch group when here for lunch. I had a BLT... The bacon was over cooked! And I don't mean crispy, I mean hard as a rock! There was a sliver of tomato on stale toast. Soda was $2.25 a can (Costco sells it for $.26 a can). I was in the restroom 4 times that afternoon... I spare you those details.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Really good food, personal service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I don't know how I have never heard about this place. We are out having Brakfast/Brunch every weekend in Marin and Sonoma Counties, and have only recently heard about the Garden Depot. I had bacon, cheddar omelet that was as good as it gets. You can even have Hollandaise souce in it! My partner had a California Benedict, which of course means avacado, and reportedly was very, very good. I loved the hash browns.(I don't like little factory jelly packets withthe toast) With 2 coffees, $30 plus tip. We had a great server, plenty of coffee refills and overall excellent service. They have an outdoor patio ---but I will continue to complain about those uncomfortable plastic 9.99 patio chairs, so we sat inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SayGoWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
“Consistently Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I live in the neighborhood, and Depot Garden has become our favorite place for breakfast! They keep the tables turning with their quick and attentive service, the food is very tasty, you can bring your dog when out on the patio. If it's a perfect place for us ( because we're so picky), it's a perfect spot for you!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 510to415jjburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Garden Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Depot Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing