We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to San Francisco, Sonoma, Napa..Infineon Raceway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the second closest higher end hotel to the Infineon Raceway. The closest was booked, so we ended up here. I like this chain anyway, so we didn't mind.
This hotel needs a face lift here and there, but all together is a nice one.
Room was a normal sized one, with a smaller than normal bathroom. For some reason, the wall-tile in the bathroom was painted over.
Everything was kept clean and functional, but the furniture and the carpet seemed a bit old and used. There was a gap between the heating/air unit and the wall. Walls are well insulated, with double pane windows. Our room faced the freeway, but we could not hear it.
The bed was firm and comfortable with good soft bedding. Pillows were a bit too big and bulky for my taste,but some may like it that way.
Room was equipped with everything except micro and refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi is included, but it was slower than 4G for me, so I didn't use it.
Our room did not include free breakfast, but there is a restaurant on the lobby floor, that serves breakfast. They charged $15 per person for a very standard breakfast buffet. I would suggest to order A'la carte.
The hotel has a small exercise room, a nice sized pool and jacuzzi. We didn't have time to use them, but they looked fine.

Reception area was clean. Staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 349 faced the freeway, but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with our team. We do review every survey that we receive. Comments are shared with ownership and capital improvements have been planned. We will spend the remainder of 2014 making improvements to our hotel to enhance the experience for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 592 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We used this property as base for commuting into San Francisco for a week while visiting our daughter. It is a nice 35 minute drive (outside of rush hours) to the central City. Public areas and rooms are nice but HVAC system could use some upgrading. Platinum members get free breakfast and sometimes free bottled water in the room daily. Otherwise, full breakfast is $15. Staff was responsive to any issues we had. Restaurant staff was very friendly but could use some additional training. Yes, we would use this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dancisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear our hotel met your expectations and that our location was convenient for you to visit your daughter. At Four Points, all guests receive free bottled water in their room. We apologize if your water bottles were not replenished daily. We will be sharing your feedback in our next team meeting. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again the next time you're in town to visit your daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here because we are SPG members and were looking for a "homebase" to tour wine country. Though I would've preferred to stay right in Napa, unfortunately, due to availability we had to look out side of the Napa area. This hotel ended up being the perfect location! From this hotel we were able to drive and tour all the vineyards we wanted to. There are plenty of restaurants in San Rafael. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were great. Our second day we spent by the pool. Our only issue was the lack of towels by the pool, which was immediately remedied. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to be of service centrally located in Marin County. Our team is happy to hear that your trip was a success. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and generously sized. Staff are helpful and polite. There are many restaurants in nearby San Rafael, and the hotel is easily reached from the freeway. The breakfast buffet is not fancy but has sufficient variety. Would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kpcnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud to be in such a wonderful location. We take our breakfast service and offerings seriously. Our Chef is always striving to be the best. I hope you will visit us again and enjoy the morning break fast buffet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here because it was close to friends, and in many ways the hotel was a typical Four Points, but two aspects deserve mention--one positive and one negative. On the downside, the hotel has a poor excuse for a fitness center: a room barely big enough to house a recumbant cycle, a treadmill, and a yoga mat. On the plus side, though, we were VERY pleased with the food, particularly the steak we had for dinner and the free wings and beer when we arrived!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james08022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank your your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to join our team for a Best Brews™ evening reception, featuring craft beers and appetizers. We love getting to connect with our guests during their stay, and look forward to connecting again on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Excellent service, and very accommodating staff. When checking in you get to spin a wheel for potential extra Starwood Points, nice touch. Dinner at the bar was very reasonable with a very nice wine list selection.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We appreciate your time in leaving us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our staff was able to make you feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Rafael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Redeemed a free night from AMEX SPG, and greeted fine at the front desk. However when we arrived at the room, the TV is still on, the bed is not made up, and there is a hair dryer still in the bathroom. Turn out they gave us a room that still occupied! This is the first time we are given the room that has not been emptied and prepared. The front desk staff apologized and promised to give us some points but that has not materialized. She did not offer anything else besides points.
The room itself is kind of small, dark, and the quality of toiletries is lower than regular Sheraton. The bed and pillow was comfortable though.
I have tried to contact management, try to speak with a front desk supervisor and leave a message, but no call back. Two stars is the most I can give to this place. Will be thinking hard of staying in any Four Points now since the other Four Points that we stayed - Bay Bridge also looks like a dump.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vai4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay. We are sorry to hear about your check-in experience and that you were not satisfied with your stay. We will be reaching out directly this week. You may also contact me anytime: Paula pcarrasquillo@fourpointssanrafael.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
5.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
596 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,561 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Address: 1010 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA 94903-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range: $131 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge and centrally located in the scenic north coast and renowned hills of Marin County. Close to Sonoma, and Napa wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points By Sheraton San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points San Rafael
San Rafael Sheraton
San Rafael Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing