We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel, Old Area and Not so good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a real old Hotel and anything that has been fixed needs to be fixed again. for the price i am sure there are better hotels. The heater dates back to the early 60's and now in winter it was inoperable ]. I am sorry but the staff was not at their best when i was there they were very short with questions or issues guest had were not handled that well. The carpet in the room is so old that the carpet just folds up in some areas and has not been replaced or stretched for that matter in years. The Elevators only handles 2 people with luggage as they too are probably from the 1950's and are extremely small. If you have stayed here and give this place 5 stars it is obvious that you don’t stay at Hotels frequently, this is not a 5 star Hotel and in my case that I stay about 200 nights a year in Hotels this at the very best is a 2

Room Tip: Choose a different place you will thank me later
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatinumMember174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We regret to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have scheduled a 3 million dollar renovation to begin in the first quarter of 2014. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify renovation needs. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 585 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Extremely convenient - right off the 101 Freeway. Located near a shopping center with food, drink, restaurants, toys, cards, etc... Staff was friendly and helpful at check-in. Extended original one overnight to two, then added two more nights later in trip. Some areas of hotel noisier than others, but all very clean and well maintained. Did not use in-house restaurant, but the food smelled great and the other guests appeared to enjoy the fare and service. Not the cheapest place by far but, overall, the staff works hard to accommodate, so I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We are two couples who've stayed here 3 times for family visits. We love the location, grounds and included breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, our 2 night stay over Thanksgiving was marred by several minor issues. At check out, I took the manager's email so I could let her know about our experience in lieu of writing a negative review on TripAdvisor. I was expecting a response, but never got one. That's why I'm going to proceed with this review.

We asked for a room facing the pool when we booked the room months in advance. It was in the notes for the confirmation, but when we checked in at 2:30, both rooms we got faced the noisy freeway side. We understood that the room choice was to be based on availability, and we decided we didn't want to make an issue of this as we were going to be very busy and away from the hotel most of the time.

My sister didn't have a hairdryer in her room. I had one, but there was no robe as promised on the reservation. We both called the front desk to ask for these items and were assured they would be provided very soon. We never got them. My sister actually asked twice for the hairdryer, but ended up borrowing mine.

The second night, we had bottled water in our room; our in-laws did not. Our room had no fridge; the other room had one. We both paid the same rate, so why the discrepancy?

This hotel could be first rate if they addressed these service and consistency issues and we sure hope they do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side, especially in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I am in the same situation as Angela below me, I was a student at Dominican and there was no room for us on their campus so they put us here. The hotel staff has been nothing but extremely welcoming and making sure we were taken care of. We have been here since the beginning of August and will be leaving in the second week of December. But I will say that it was quiet an adventure to be here, from the fridays with free food and drinks to the fresh cookies and hot chocolate in the lobby. The staff here really take hospitality to another level, they are personable and are easy to talk too. The beds were soft, rooms clean and the food in the restaurant is delicious. Even the head chef comes out to make sure everyone is having a good meal. I would honestly stay here again. Plus it is close to several restaurants and stores, so if you don't want to eat at the hotel then you can go some where else to eat. And if you want food to be delivered the hotel is just fine with that and for your safety the call your room to ask if you made the call for delivery. Plus they have a really good happy hour and every friday they have a BBQ in summer and wine tastings and other food specials in winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynnis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My story is quite different. Students from Dominican University of California had to stay here in this hotel due to not having enough housing on campus. We had to stay from here from the end of August to Mid-December. The staff here is very kind and helpful! As a student, I thought the beds were much nicer than the dorms. Plus having a pool and spa open all year round is a great way to relax! I thought breakfast and dinner was on the pricer side, the food is still great.
During the first few weeks, I noticed that my room was missing a fridge, but thanks to the staff, they fixed the problem quickly.

This place is very convenient. There is a UPS and Bank at the bottom of the hill, and a shopping center (that includes a stationary shop, Big 5, music store, Safeway and a pet store) within walking distance.

Overall, a wonder experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so happy to hear that your extended stay with us was a great experience! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving while visiting nearby family (Novato and Fairfax - the hotel is about half way in between). The hotel property on top of a hile about a tenth of a mile off of the 101 and is across the street from the Northgate Shopping area, which among other things has a really good bagel shop, especially in comparison to the restaurant in the hotel. As a place to stay, the hotel is quite good, with comfortable beds, furnishings in relatively good shape, and good sized rooms (large enough that the unit's heat pump was more like white noise at night). The layout is reminiscent of an Italian villa, with an interior courtyard featuring nice plantings, pool, hot tub, and fire pit, all of which people were putting to use during our visit. We tried the restaurant for breakfast once, and found it to be both mediocre and expensive, after which we walked down the hill and across the street for truly tasty food like a fresh egg-wich (egg on bagel), juice and really good coffee. The heat pump in the room pretty much automatically rules this out from being a high end hotel, but other than the restaurant, we found it to be a fine place to stay while in the area, especially since much better food options are within easy walking distance. We will likely stay here again on subsequent visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent 10 minutes on phone making sure that reservation would include fridge needed for meds. Front desk had no record of our request, they finally found a room with fridge. Upon entering room, there was no fridge.

Eventually they found fridge. Carpet in room was paper thin and bunched up in middle of room. Unknown to us, Built in electrical outlets in desk we're not operating. We were unable to charge electronics. Bed was very comfortable. TV AND TV SERVICE WERE EXCELLENT. Bathroom and shower were tiny. Bathroom sink was built for midgets.

Housekeeping never made up our room. We did not have a do not disturb sign on our door.

This hotel needs to be refreshed.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
5.4 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
10.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,512 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Address: 1010 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA 94903-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range: $130 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge and centrally located in the scenic north coast and renowned hills of Marin County. Close to Sonoma, and Napa wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
4 Points By Sheraton San Rafael
Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points San Rafael
San Rafael Sheraton
San Rafael Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing