We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Hotels Over Booking Policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of Hotels Over Booking Policy”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were informed that the hotel overbooks it rooms by 10 % and that our reserved room had been given to another party. The
desk person informed us that they had good news and bad news. He did this with a chuckle. He told us that there were no rooms available and that he had secured a room in another hotel down the road. We were not amused. The room in the other hotel was a handicaped room. The bed was almost on the floor. Just because you have a reservation at this hotel doesn't mean that your room will be waiting for you when you arrive. We made our reservation three weeks in advance. We complained to the manager and she told us that next time call that day and confirmed the reservation. If you are traveling by airplane like we did it's kind of hard to call and confirm reservations. Anyway, when you make a reservation and pay in advance the room should be waiting for you no matter what time you arrive.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    358
    223
    96
    42
See reviews for
451
258
42
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The good:

Separate bedroom from living area
Fantastic breakfast as others have mentioned
Close to San Fran
Accessible - nice wide doorways, elevators and auto doors at front
Clean
Saturday night curfew for children. Gotta love that!


The bad:

NOISY! - Sound echoes up from the atrium Our neighbours - also noisy. They kept their door on the latch and then would come in and out and the door would bang very loudly and make our whole room shake - I kid you not! They went out for the night & returned about 1am and then did the same. A call to security quickly fixed the problem.
Smoking - On exiting the elevator, the third floor has a sign that proclaims it to be smoke-free. Well guess what? It's not. Room 324, our noisy neighbours, were smoking. Of course the smoke was coming out of the room through the abovementioned ajar door. I went down and checked with the front desk. Yes, room 324 IS a smoking room. Unbelieveable considering our room 323 is a non-smoking room. Why would ES do that? Air conditioning - smoke from room 324 coming in through our a/c Maintenance problems - we had curtains in our living area that were hanging off the rod. Internet - not free. Why not???
Sofabed - not made up. Had to call down to get housekeeping.

Conclusion: If this is a typical Embassy Suites, then I don't think we'll bother again. Granted it was a Saturday night and the place was full of children but it was the noise and smoke from our neighbours that turned us off and ruined our stay. I shall be writing to ES to let them know my opinion of their smoking policy.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Smoking room on a non-smoking floor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Annoyance:

When I reserved the room, the online system said my internet access was included. I booked an executive room.

The manager gave me a hard time when I pointed this out to him.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — annoying manager
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lbhtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We booked this hotel because we planned to spend some time on the coast and then head to Oakland for an A's game. We were interested in staying in San Francisco, but the room rates and parking fees were too far out of our budget for our quick visit to the Bay Area. Because we were there during the middle of the week, the guests were a mix of business and recreational. Our room was clean and comfortable. The managers reception from 5:30 - 7:30 include very light snacks, sodas and adult beverages. It was nice to relax in the beautiful atrium by the waterfall and koi ponds and drink free cocktails! We asked the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations and they were very helpful. Breakfast was a good, cooked to order meal. The pool was salt water so the room didn't smell of chlorine. The workout room was clean and ample. We will definitely return to this hotel when we travel in the Bay area again.

  • Liked — breakfast, spacious two room suite
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights on an extended trip to California. We chose it because it was centrally located to quite a few sights north of San Francisco, it was reasonably priced, and an Embassy Suites (which is always a bonus!)

This was a nice hotel--everything you would expect from an Embassy Suites including the nice cooked to order free breakfast and afternoon manager's reception. Clean rooms, comfy beds, nice kitchenette. I like this Embassy Suites especially because the bedroom and living area were separated by an actual hallway which gave it a lot of privacy. The bathroom was large and very clean/new.

I didn't like the openness of the inside of the hotel. The rooms are all off balconies/catwalk type halls that are all open to the lobby. It can be a little loud, and beware if you are afraid of heights.

The hotel is right off of the highway. There isn't much to see right around the hotel and you definitely need a car. But it is centrally located to a lot of great locations. It is a 1/2 hour drive from Sonoma (45 from Napa), 10 minutes or so from Sausalito, 45 minutes from Muir Woods and Stinson Beach. It was also reasonably priced compared to other hotels. We never actually saw downtown San Rafael, so I can't comment on it.

  • Liked — Suite, clean, central location
  • Disliked — Open hallways, smell of water fountain/fish
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magg1ema3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed in room 242 in late July 2008. Like many Embassy Suites, there is an open atrium surrounded by balconies on which the rooms open out onto. Our room, facing south, had a nice view of the Marin Civic Center, designed by the famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

As usual, the breakfast buffet was generous and varied, and included in the price of our stay. The indoor pool and hot tub were in good working order. Best of all was a waterfall feature in the atrium, and a curving pond stocked with friendly Japanese Koi fish. My kids, who slept on the sofa bed near the door, said they could hear the waterfall at night, and they loved it. I think the waterfall is an asset, because it could help drown out the noise made by anyone sitting at the tables in the atrium in the evening.

All the staff, from the front desk person, to the breakfast servers, to the maids, were courteous and helpful.

My only problem was with the flat screen TV in the bedroom. It is plugged into a noisy converter box that provides the hotel info feed, and it hums loudly even with the TV off. The armoire it sits in seems to amplify the noise. If this bothers you, simply rotate the TV screen slightly, reach back behind and unplug the power cord from the outlet, and the noise will stop so you can sleep. The TV won't work then, so be sure to plug it back in before you leave.

Although expensive ($239.00 per night), it was a clean, safe, and fun environment for our family to relax in.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, generous buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy TV converter box (just unplug if it bothers you!)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My family (husband and kids aged 5 & 8) stayed here for two nights in June. We used it as a place to stay while we went to Pt. Reyes Seashore and also San Francisco. The hotels closer to San Francisco were way too expensive and overbooked so that is why we originally chose this location.

We were very happy with this hotel. The interior courtyard is a very pleasing area. There is a waterfall with fish in the indoor pond area. The children loved the fish which seemed very friendly.

In the evenings, there is a Manager's reception. We enjoyed the free drinks, which I believe could of been almost any drink. My husband enjoyed some beer whereas I had some wine and a rum and coke. I saw many different types of drinks being consumed by other patrons. There is fresh popcorn as well. Light snacks were served. One night it was chips, dip, and tortillas. The seond night we had tortillas, salsa, and goldfish.
There are nice tables around the courtyard to enjoy your snacks but on a weekend night, the tables fill up quickly.

The front desk was nice, and helpful.

The indoor pool was a plus, but on Saturday night it was swamped with kids diving and jumping. My children who are smaller were not comfortable swimming with the roudy children and got out immediately. On our second night, which was a Sunday, the pool was quieter and the girls were able to use it. The chlorine smell was strong though.

As for our room, we had a king bed suite with a pull out sofa sleeper that the children slept on. There were two large flat screen tvs, a nice desk area. The minibar area was large and ample space. There is a fridge. The bedroom was comfy and the bed had 4 nice pillows on it. The extra bedding for the sleeper sofa was nicely packaged in a bag in the closet. The room in general was very clean and we heard no noise from our neighbors.

In the morning, there is a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Numerous choices of juices are available. There is a specialty coffee maker which makes about 10 different drinks including hot cocoa. Food consisted of fruits, muffins, scones, bagels and toast, oatmeal, and cereals. Cooked breakfast could be pretty much anything from french toast or pancakes or omeletes/eggs. Breakfast meats were also available. The breakfast alone was well worth the price of this hotel.

When going into San Francisco, we took the Larkspur ferry and it was a nice experience as we got to enjoy the city views without having to drive in the traffic.

  • Liked — Breakfast and Manager's Reception. Also price was reasonable.
  • Disliked — Pool - unsupervised kids were very roudy.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing