We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, United States
1 review
“Losing thier touch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My third time staying here, and probably my last, seems that their is a lack of attention to whats used to make this a great place to stay, Breakfest is basically sugar and canned, could not even get a bagel, but had plenty of sweet rolls/ spa was conviently out of order all 4 days of trip/is the only hotel in area with indoor pool and hot tub/ one of the main reason I stay there. very dissapointed this trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the dinning issues you experienced during your stay. We do our best to ensure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and we will use your comments as we continuously work to improve the overall experience of our guest.

Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We hope that your next stay with us will be much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    355
    221
    95
    41
See reviews for
446
257
41
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Embassy Suites is perfect for a couple visiting their adult children. Nice enough to be comfortable and with a great daily breakfast buffet and custom cooked entrees (eggs, omelets, pancakes and French Toast). Evening Managers cocktail hour with free drinks. Overall a great stay but avoid the rooms in the low 200s since they are directly over the pool and have a constant chlorine odor. Would recommend higher floors or higher numbers (almost anything above 208) so that the room is not directly over the pool. But, still a great place to stay. More expensive than other locations but this is a classic case of getting more when you pay more. Overall a value at the higher price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and appreciate all the highlights that made your stay so positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Two separate business visits to the Embassy Suites San Rafael in two weeks. Rooms are decent, clean and comfortable. Location is excellent: far enough away from freeway noise, yet close enough for ease of access.

First trip had room on top floor, in corner. Apparently no one in room next door, so overall very quiet. Water stain on bedroom ceiling from some previous issue, but otherwise all was good.

Second trip had room on third floor, in corner. Room next door had two small children and could hear everything from that room (doesn't help that children were being allowed to scream ... ).

Prefer the corner rooms as these do not have the funky windows that face to interior atrium found on the other rooms. Enclosed atrium/courtyard has large waterfall, koi ponds and tables/chairs.

Breakfast made to order each morning is included as is the evening manager reception at the bar.

Expectations not high, so not disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. We’re happy to learn that you had a satisfying experience. Hopefully the Honors Floor will be available on your future stay, to mitigate the noise issues you experianced. Your continued patronage is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Embassy Suites. Pros- the hotel was reasonably priced, the room had three beds, it was clean, they had nice bath products (Crabtree and Evelyn) you get free breakfast with the room (buffet style/omelet bar) staff is friendly, 30 minute drive to San Francisco
Cons- the sofa bed was really uncomfortable :(

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulagirl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Please be assured that I will share your overall service experience with our team. We hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you're driving to San Francisco and can work the 30min drive into your schedule then I highly recommend staying here. We found it impossible to find a hotel in San Fran above 2 stars that included free parking and breakfast, in most cases parking alone was between $50 and $60 per day. This hotel is excellent value including a made to order hot breakfast & buffet, managers reception every evening including snacks and two beverages per guest (alcoholic or virgin) & free parking. It is also one of the few hotels with an indoor pool which is always a must for our kids.

Though a little in need of a makeover, the hotel is clean, comfortable and has a pleasant ambiance with the sounds of the waterfall in the open area. My kids also loved the big fish that they were able to feed upon getting fish food from the front desk.


We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We appreciated the suites as we had the kids sleep on the sofa-bed and we had a room to ourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateAndTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel and we're pleased to learn that your experience met your expectations. We hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I have expectations on an Embassy--room, lobby, breakfast. This one met expectations but didn't exceed so hence the 4 not 5. Room was clean, normal Embassy room, everything worked, no problems. Breakfast seemed average for Embassy, but nothing special. No compliants, we'd stay here again.

This one is like a double sized Embassy...with two square sections on interior lobby. 5th floor is all for Rewards members, but our room here was similar to all other Embassy's I've stayed at.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vgroten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your canidid feed back concerning your recent stay at the ES. We’re happy to learn that you had a satisfying experience and will certainly take your suggestions concerning the breakfast selections into consideration.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Embassy Suites offers a fine experience. It has quiet ,well appointed suites, a reception in the evenings and a fine breakfast. We chose the location since we arrived at SFO on an evening flight and wanted to be in Sonoma the next morning and the San Rafael location gave us a good head start with no rush hour hassles

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JohnGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. Please be assured that I will share your overall service experience with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing