We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bad, the Good, and the Cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethlehem, United States
1 review
“The Bad, the Good, and the Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Read the web description of your reoom carefully. I failed to and ended up with a hide-a-bed rather than a scond bedroom. In room AC had to be on all the time to overcome the external temp in the common areas and the sun exposure of the Master Bedroom. The room(s), I tried a second, smelled kind of like stale pipe tobacco. Bedroom window could only be opened six inches and there was no wall unit so getting the room to smell fresher was a challenge. The complimentary breakfast is clearly what attracts repeat business to this facility. The coffee was excellant. You could have eggs prepared your way or have them cook an omelet to your specifications. There was an excellent selection of choices for breakfast. Charging the guests a seperate fee for in-room WiFi makes this place look like Motel 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Reed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate our guests feedback, including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was happy to hear that you fully enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast, one of our brands main pillars. I do, however understand that you felt that our website wording of having a two-room suite was a bit confusing. We do have hospitality suites that have two bedrooms and a common parlor area, however, I realize how two room suite can be mis-interpreted and will speak to our marketing people with the brand for better descriptive wording. I also understand that your suite temperature was not to you liking, I do apologize for that. Our HVAC system is set with a low and a high and our windows only open a few inches due to safety regualtions. It was a warm weekend which did not help. So again, I do apologize. Relative to the charge for wi-fi, we like most other large hotel chains are looking at a number of options with the ever growing use/need of wi-fi services. It' has been a main topic of conversation for the last few years and hopefully a solution will come in the not too distant future. Thank you once again for your comments and your candor. I do hope that when your travels bring you back to the area, that you will stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    346
    215
    92
    41
See reviews for
431
250
40
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hospitality
- The hotel staff was really helpful with every aspect of our stay.

Food / Dining
- Room rate included a free breakfast buffet. There was cooked to order food, including omelets, meats, etc. Fantastic spread!
- Happy Hour - free cocktails during a couple of hours of happy hour (around 5-7pm, I believe). Great way to wind down after a long day of work, and a great way to speak with colleagues.

Location
- We were onsite at Autodesk's San Rafael facility, which was literally around the corner (easy walk).

Room
- My room was very spacious, including a full living area with large flat-screen TV, desk, small fridge, sink, coffee, etc.
- Bathroom was pretty standard.
- King bed was very comfortable, and the bedroom had another flat screen TV and a desk.
- Room came standard with iron, ironing board, wide closet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennibeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I appreciated the detail to which you explained and commented about our accommodations and the services we provide our guests. Based on your comments, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our location made it easy for you to get back and forth with ease as well. More and more of our guests, both business and leisure are finding our location to be ideal relative to where they need to conduct their business, visit family or friends or enjoy a vacation. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel outside of Napa for the BottleRock Festival and it was well worth it. They had a terrific hot made to order breakfast in the morning. The staff were very helpful as we had arrived late the night before. They provided non-down pillows and brought them up immediately even at 12:00 midnight. I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Audra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
What a great way to start a day! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us during the Bottlerock Concert Weekend in Napa. I was happy to hear that you loved our cooked-to-order breakfast and that the staff was attentive and helpful. We try our best to make each and everyone of our guests feel comfortable and at home and it sounds as though we did just that! I will be sure to share your coments with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay close to everything and the breakfast is awesome!! Free drinks during the reception hours. Koi pond and waterfall make it fun for the kids as well!!! We stay there about 3-4 times a year it's about a 30 minute drive to Marine World and 15 minutes to SF great location!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katana1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Can't thank you enough for your kind words about the hotel. It's nice to know that you enjoy all that Embassy Suites has to offer and that our location, as more and more people are finding out, works out well for going into the city, the local amusement parks and wine country. I appreciate your continued patronage to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, Ca, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very pleasant and the staff was always helpful.Would always recommend it. The breakfast is great and the service from all areas is first rate. My wife and I will be returning in the next few months for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Short, sweet and much appreciated! I am so happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and will coming back for a return visit. We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, IL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Check-in, check-out were very easy. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Hotel is quiet. Breakfast is fantastic! Staff was delightful. Perfect location for our visit/tour of the Marin County Civic Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It is always nice to hear from our guests perspective, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate you mentioning the ease of your check in and check out, that our location was perfect for your visit to the Marin Center ,that you found your accommodations comfortable and spacious and our cooked to order breakfast fantastic. We try our best to ensure that all of our guests feel like they are in their home away from home. I am happy that your experience proved to be just that. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything is cheap and low quality - breakfast, managers reception, internet, housekeeping. No gluten free, no recycling. Had two reservations back to back but could not get room key for the full duration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dmitriy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
4.1 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing