We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very pleasant and the staff was always helpful.Would always recommend it. The breakfast is great and the service from all areas is first rate. My wife and I will be returning in the next few months for another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Short, sweet and much appreciated! I am so happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and will coming back for a return visit. We'll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Check-in, check-out were very easy. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Hotel is quiet. Breakfast is fantastic! Staff was delightful. Perfect location for our visit/tour of the Marin County Civic Center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

It is always nice to hear from our guests perspective, so thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate you mentioning the ease of your check in and check out, that our location was perfect for your visit to the Marin Center ,that you found your accommodations comfortable and spacious and our cooked to order breakfast fantastic. We try our best to ensure that all of our guests feel like they are in their home away from home. I am happy that your experience proved to be just that. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything is cheap and low quality - breakfast, managers reception, internet, housekeeping. No gluten free, no recycling. Had two reservations back to back but could not get room key for the full duration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Dmitriy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

First this is the best breakfast we have had from a hotel! Great selection, hot food, made to order omelets. The beds were a little firm for my liking, but the big spacious rooms were nice for all of us. Everyone was friendly, others had complained it looking old and while its not modern it is clean, the fact the serve popcorn and great snacks in the evening to guests who carries them around is what people are talking about. Aka my son spilt popcorn on the carpets and in areas..... They cleaned up behind him because I went an apologized. As for location, off the between path but very safe area. We liked it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Just returned from being out-of-town and was so pleased to read your review! Thank you for not only taking the time to write the review but for your kind words regarding our cooked-to-order breakfast, spacious suites, friendly staff, good location and overall cleanliness. The fact that we actually do wind up picking up popcorn well into each evening in areas all around the hotel is just part of what happens each day. We try our best to take it in stride and truly just want our guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay, as you and your family did. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you once again for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As with some other Embassy Suites we have stayed, this property is pretty worn. I used to think Embassy Suites was more upscale, but in recent years I have come to view them as a slightly above average hotel for families with children. This one falls into the same category.

Positives: Nice location with nearby foothill views. Nice exterior architecture and clean grounds. Interior atrium with openness, plants, waterfall and Koi ponds (features common to Embassy Suites). Friendly front desk staff. Made to order hot breakfast included (can be a little greasy but fruit and oatmeal available too). Room service was quick and convenient for dinner with tasty in-room menu. Restaurant also on site. Manager's welcome with free drinks in the evening. (Free chips and salsa a bit gross as was the bar area). Large suites with nice size bathrooms. Lobby in pretty good condition.

Negatives: Interior of hotel, including rooms, carpets, flooring, furniture, elevators all appear worn and stained. Chipping paint, lots of wall marks and scuffs, dirty elevators, etc. Light oak looking room furniture very outdated. Couch and carpets in suites seem dirty. Paint chipping off very dirty window sill in room. A/C barely works and it was uncomfortably hot all night. It is an old-type system which needs replacing. Pool and gym area overrun by children and very loud. The lovely atrium was not tranquil (on a Sunday night stay). Pink walls and brass in hotel appears to be early 90s decor.

Rethinking ever staying at an ES property again. Too inconsistent. Sacramento ES only nice one we have stayed in recent years. They used to be nice in the 80s and 90s.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests-including when comments help identify ways that we can improve. I was happy to read from your review that you found many good things about the hotel inclusive of our location, the openness of our atrium, our friendly Front Desk Staff, good Breakfast and Room Service, large accommodations and nice lobby. Our main priority is for all of our guets to feel welcome and to have an enjoyable stay. I do, however, understand that you found some features of our hotel to be dated. I can assure you that your feedback is incredibly important to us. In fact, we are looking at different options to upgrade and renovate what we can with Ownerships help. In regards to chipped paint and your air conditioning not working properly, I certainly apologize and thank you for bringing it to our attention, so that we can properly take care of each. Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to the opprotunity to serve you again when your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

$140/night is what I paid - not a bad hotel, just the price is too much for what you get. There is another hotel in San Rafael that is of equal quality and I can usually book for $100/night; has a restaurant/bar, breakfast, and very nice rooms. Not a terrible experience, just not worth the price; if you are going to spend around $150, or more, go into the city, or closer to the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts relative to your recent stay with us. It was disappointing to hear that you felt that there was no price value for staying at our hotel as compared to staying in San Francisco. While we are aware that some other hotels provide breakfast, we believe that what Embassy Suites offers with our cooked-to -order breakfast coupled with our evening reception and spacious suite accommodations does set us a part from other hotels in the area. In addition, we do not charge for parking, so hopefully at the end of the day, we are a value. It is our hope that when you visit the area again, that you will consider staying with us and enjoy all the amenities we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Embassy Suites in San Rafael. My husband and I have already booked our stay for Christmas since our children and grandchildren live in San Rafael. We also spent last Christmas here. We are very satisfied with everything the Embassy Suites offers us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind words concerning your recent stay with us. I can't tell you how many of our guests stay with us, who have family in the area...we're their extra bedroom and the respit after a days visit with loved ones. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
597 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.1 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range: $164 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Rafael - Marin County hotel is located just north of San Francisco, a few short steps from the Marin County Convention Center and Civic Center. Set in a scenic area known for its wineries and natural beauty, this upscale San Rafael hotel is within easy reach of attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, Northgate Shopping Mall, Sausalito and downtown San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing