We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooooo tasty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Food Puerto Rican Cuisine

Sol Food Puerto Rican Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 230 Restaurants in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sooooo tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I LOVE the food here. Favorites are the camarones empanizados (with great garlic dipping sauce) and bisctec encebollados. The sweet and the garlic fried plantains are both great. The roast chicken is very tender, not dry at all. Amazing sparkling limeade too! We eat here more than once a week and it is consistently great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOdeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    149
    42
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“!!!Culinary orgasm!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Camarones Empanizados. That's really all I have to say. This place blows the top of your skull from your head. That's how good it is.

Helpful?
Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved the plantains - you will too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found this place when attending a conference in San Rafael. Puerto Rican restaurants are not all that common where I'm from so made a point to stop in while in town. Great stuff. This place seems to be hopping all the time. Wife and I showed up at dinner time on Saturday to a line of about 30 deep. As there was just two of us we were able to get in sooner as we agreed to sit at the bar at the window facing out. The Bistec Sandwich seems to be a favorite, really good. Also particularly enjoyed the Mango and Orange Iced Tea. Not to be missed. Another suggestion is the Tostones Con Queso with tomatoes (Fried plantains with cheese and tomatoes). And pretty much any of the many plantain dishes or sides they offer (and are famous for). Highly recommend when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended by all the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Several different people recommended this restaurant and suggested we try the jibaro. Excellent choice! The restaurant had a line, but Sol Food had a 2nd entrance for take-out. We had our food in 5 minutes by choosing the take-out entrance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The black beans, rice, and sweet plantains were very good. Long line, but it moved fast. The communal seating found a place for everyone quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Food Puerto Rican Cuisine also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Sol Food Puerto Rican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing