We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk”

North Bay San Rafael
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Bay San Rafael
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't walk”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

First of all, I would like to second the comments about the immediate area. It is right next to the freeway in a not so great part of town; and should one venture on foot anywhere one rapidly realises that this is not a good idea given that _every_ and I mean _every_ store has a security guard outside it.

Once inside, the room is very plush my first thought was of the spaceship, in hitchhikers guide to the galaxy, you know the one that was blacker than black, belonging to the dead for a year for tax reasons rock-star. This was probably due to the all black appliances and extremely dark decor...

I should also mention that in our room the floor was not horizontal, but fell away toward one of the room's corners which I found rather disconcerting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misanthropos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    17
    3
    13
See reviews for
22
31
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

If you are looking for a fairly priced hotel with a good location this is a great place. The rooms are recently remodeled. They have large flat screen T.V.s, microwaves, refrigerators and granite bathrooms. There is bottled water and coffee in the room. The rooms are fairly large with a vanity separate from the toilet and bath. If you want a room with a view, this is not your place. It faces the 580 and backs up to an industrial area.

It is about a mile away from 4th street in San Rafael where you can find all the cool restaurants and shops. It is also at the apex of the 580 and 101 freeways with their bridges across the Bay affording easy access to San Francisco, Berkeley and Oakland.

I've stayed at the Westin and Sheraton Suite in the past month and thought this room was nicer than either.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAS8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I was really surprised at how nice this little place was. The rooms are just like the Holiday Inn or a step up from Comfort Inn rooms. It had a nice pillow top bed, flat screen TV, refrigerator and granite counter tops in the bathroom. During the winter time the rates are very low. If I can remember it was around $70 or $80 a night. It's a no brainier if I'm back in the "City by the Bay" I'll be back to North Bay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Friendly staff, comfortable bed, clean room. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in San Rafael.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights last week after a long trip from Australia. We were delayed via LAX and arrived at 1:30 am and were kindly received into a clean, well equipped non-smoking room with 2 queen beds. This is a great base to explore Marin County and/or the city. The staff catered to all of the special requests that we made and did everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable. As others have noted- the outside of this place looks pretty ordinary but the inside of the room was in very good shape.
Highly recommended as it represents outstanding value for money and is well located.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My daughter lives less than a mile from this motel and had never noticed it among the businesses lining rt 101. But I followed the advice of other reviewers here and it was perfect for me. Great price (I paid $55 a night) and location, the room was recently renovated and clean, nice TV, fridge, and microwave, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was simple (yogurt, cereal, packaged pastries--no granola or oatmeal or waffles or eggs, etc.), and you have to take it to your room, but for this price that wasn't a problem for me. If you are very sensitive to road noise, you can hear it, but it is constant and relatively low, so for me it was just background or white noise. You can't walk anywhere very interesting from here in a commercial neighborhood, but again that wasn't an issue for me. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a clean and pleasant room close to San Francisco at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

All that has been said in other reviews still hold true.
Not much to look at from the outside until you step thru the door into the room.
Clean like new carpets, granite tops on all surfaces and bath. A very nice touch.
Their prices this time of year are around $75 i f you try to book thru their website. I don't know if there is a low season rate, but if you search the discount websites, you can get it for less. Interestingly, they said there were no rooms available when I called direct, but I could get it thru some of the discount sites.I managed to book thru Priceline which quoted a price of $61. It pays to shop around a little.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1956Cgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay San Rafael

Property: North Bay San Rafael
Address: 855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4726
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Bay San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
North Bay Hotel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing