We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Bay San Rafael

North Bay San Rafael
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Bay San Rafael
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

This small motel is clearly run by people who care.

My large room was well-furnished (plasma TV, sofa, refer, mwave), spotless, and thoughtfully prepared - one favorite touch was the bath mat, which was laid on the tub edge with one corner folded up and a round of soap nestled in the fold.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. The price was extremely reasonable - I called direct and was quoted an even lower price than shown on their website.

The continental breakfast was surprisingly complete, for a cold in-the-lobby type of spread, with healthful choices (fruit, yogurt) as well as the typical wrapped pastries, plus a wonderful fresh-brew coffee machine.

The only real drawbacks were barely-adequate room lighting, and a fair amount of highway noise.

I'll certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    17
    3
    13
See reviews for
22
31
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed at the North Bay on our way back from Muir Woods, knowing that it was our last night in the SF area before we went to Alcatraz and flew out the next day. Despite the road construction, this motel was a very pleasant surprise. It has been renovated very nicely. (granite counters, fridge, flat screen tv, comfortable beds, etc.) The management and staff were very friendly, very glad that we stayed!!

  • Liked — great rooms;price
  • Disliked — road construction
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okla
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

We highly recommend North Bay Inn. This is a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and the rooms are very nice. We booked this for a rest before sightseeing in San Francisco and all in our group were pleased with this hotel.

  • Liked — Price and friendliness and helpfulnes of staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

Unassuming on the outside but deluxe on the inside, both in beauty and comfort. Managers were friendly and courteous. Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, updated room, ffriendly and courteous managers
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveliteChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

My family decided to go to travel to the San Francisco Bay area during a holiday last minute. We used Priceline and when we arrived, I was disappointed when we pulled up. The place was an older motel-style establishment that looked run down and was in a very industrial neighborhood next to an interchange under construction. However, when we went into the room I was very, very pleasantly surprised! The room had been very tastefully renovated- great wall color and decor, wood cabinetry, granite counters, completely new upscale bathroom, plush towels, super mattress, great little extras. I did not at all expect such a great room and such superior service from the outside appearance! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The great renovated room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Noanne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEAUMONT, TEXAS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed two nights while touring "wine country" For the price, you couldn't beat it. The room was freshly painted, granite countertops, comfortable bed and microwave and fridge were a bonus. The only complaint was it is very close to the freeway and there was construction going on. However, it never kept us up at night and the gentleman who ran the front desk was friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank bahrsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay San Rafael

Property: North Bay San Rafael
Address: 855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4726
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your North Bay San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
North Bay Hotel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing