We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Year Round Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marin County Farmers' Market--San Rafael

Marin County Farmers' Market--San Rafael
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Year Round Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I don't know if many travelers visit Farmers' Markets, but this is one not to be missed. It is year round, with Summer, of course, being the most vibrant. There is Organic produce every where and wonderful food vendors. Fresh fish, artisan cheese, baked goods, flowers, crafts.....
The list goes on and on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grandma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    27
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best farmers market ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are fortunate to live in Marin, and we go to the San Rafael Civic Center Farmers' Market every Sunday morning and most Thursday mornings. We take all our visitors to the farmers' market as well. We have been to farmers' markets all over the world, and we think this one is the best. Looks like all the other reviews have just about covered it, but I have to reiterate that in addition to having all the freshest locally grown produce, there is an amazing array of food options to take out or eat there, and some of the best bakeries in the world. Fresh Marin County cheeses, fabulous tomatoes, tons of samples to help you choose the very best peaches, berries, etc. Guests are always overwhelmed by all the great things to eat, and it is always fun to let everyone choose from the many breakfast/lunch options (crepes, Greek food, Mexican food, Falafals, Dim Sum, etc.) and you can sit and eat while listening to whatever live music they have that day. The Thursday market is across the road, smaller, but still has many good vendors, food options, and entertainment for the kids. Can't say enough about this market. Best ever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I go every Sunday if your just interested in shopping arrive at 8:00 if its a family outing after 9:00 is perfect

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Styler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great market for locals and visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

San Rafael's Sunday Farmer's Market, located at the Marin Civic Center, is both the best place to get locally grown produce and foodstuffs as well as the best place for visitors to sample local flavors.

Because of the live music, food stands and craft vendors, this makes a great family-friendly attraction for visitors and out-town-guests. I recommend it to anyone who lives here or is just in town for a short while.

The produce gets much cheaper the closer you get to the 1pm closing time, however traffic and parking is very difficult after 11:30 or so. Pets are not allowed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agent_Jarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lot more than a farmer's market. It is a weekly festival. Only problem is its popularity makes finding parking within a quarter of a mile difficult so go early. Nothing like anywhere around here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marin County Farmers' Market--San Rafael also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Marin County Farmers' Market--San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing