We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panama Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Rafael
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panama Hotel
Save
You added Panama Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

in an incredible place just few miles form golden gate. i just stayeed for one night but found i lovely. nice people and the food is amazing. a lot of locals where arround for dinner, that can tell you all allways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andres j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
19
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just a ways over the Golden Gate from San Francisco, in San Rafael, in the neighborhoods is The Panama. Very discreet place for an assignation, European rooms (my preference) for cheap with bath in hall, or swank suites. Down stairs is an excellent restaurant, really it all how you want it to be. No long halls hauling luggage, nearby gentle walks, shopping 4 blocks, lovely trees, and the restaurant is warm inviting, in short, lunch dinner fabulous, white table cloth breakfast for guests. I would want to own a hundred and one of these, in many burbs outside the city, yet truly close, only here Napa & Sonoma are very close, and Berkeley by the San Rafael Bridge, is the best bridge, completely a proximity yet apart from the Google bus system in SF and South Bay....

Room Tip: European is right, there's a shower or tub to choose, bathrobe provided, stay 3 days to sleep be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwanderX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nestled at the bottom of the hill amongst the Victorians of Gerstle Park the twinkling lights in the conservatory danced at me every time we drove past on our way home, beckoning me to book dinner.

What a delight. An quirky, charming, laid back and delightful restaurant, intimate and cheerful. Delicious food, every course well measured, beautifully presented, sadly too large for my British stomach but every mouthful absolutely delicious.

The string quartet/band added a fun ambience, it was so sweet, romantic and lovely that I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Panama while in San Rafael for medical appointments. We had Mimi's Bungalow. It's simple yet luxurious. Beautifully funished with a delightful patio. We had friends over for wine and Hors'dourves in our suite, then dinner in the restaurant. Lovely all around. Dinner was great, even though staff was challenged to keep up with demand. Our dog was allowed to sleep next to my feet while we dined. A lovely night. Going back next month!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoutypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I visited Panama Hotel Restaurant on December 2, 2013 for a group business lunch. This was my first visit in many years and I enjoyed my meal, as did everyone in my group. I ordered the Golden and Red Beet Salad and the Dungeness Crab in half avocado. Both items were delicious! The ingredients were fresh and the display was very nice. The group's orders ranged from salads, fish tacos to hamburgers; all looked good and everyone was happy! Service was very good and our group of 12 was placed in the enclosed patio area which was lovely. Panama Hotel is close to work so I plan to return more often now that I've rediscovered it. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited friends in San Rafael and they recommended the Panama Hotel. We were unsure about our choice based on a few odd reviews, but after staying in Mimi's Bungalow for several nights, we can give a great review! Ground floor, farther away from the restaurant, quiet, spacious, clean, nicely decorated, with a comfy bed. The door opens onto a room with a futon, sink, teensy microwave and teeny fridge. Beautiful bathroom to the right (clean, with a new shower, shower head that mists, and grapefruit/ginger toiletries)... And bedroom to the left. Both rooms had nice flat screen televisions and big full-length mirrors. Big, walk-in closet and vanity area behind the bed for clothes and suitcases. (Good area for make-up, since the bathroom lighting is dark.)
Breakfast was nice... Nothing fancy. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night (different management, so we could not add it to the hotel bill) and especially enjoyed the very professional and friendly service. Restaurant is pretty... Especially the patio. It was more quiet for talking out there and they kept us warm with those big outdoor heaters.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Notjustanyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Such a delightful experience----spotless, lovely furnishings, friendly staff, and so quaint. The bonus for us was the delicious restaurant packed both nights with locals. The live jazz groups were a great treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drive158blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.3 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
2.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Hotel

Property: Panama Hotel
Address: 4 Bayview St, San Rafael, CA 94901-4913
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing