We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and interesting with excellent service & food.”
Review of Panama Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Rafael
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panama Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and interesting with excellent service & food.”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The best feature is the food and the very wonderful folks who work here.

Rooms are very clean and each different from the others. No bugs, we left our balcony doors open the whole stay.

Only downside is street parking. Sometimes a challenge.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chapmand1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
23
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed one night this summer and absolutely loved it. Quaint, charming, and a great restaurant also. The bed was comfortable and the room was charmingly decorated. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The "suite" we occupied apparently was a converted garage. Let's see what I can remember: dead bugs, hair in the bathroom, spotted carpet, old TV that requires two remotes, wi-fi died at 9:45 p.m., bad mattress, you name it. And then when I told the staff my displeasure it was easy to see that she was really annoyed and attempted to dismiss my complaints. Avoid this joint.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank frabjous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Recommended by a local businessman, the Panama Hotel had live jazz in the restaurant, excellent food choices ( I had arugula and beet salad topped with calamari!) and wine by the glass, and the rooms are quaint ,comfortable and well equipped. What a change from usual business hotels: park , for free, on the narrow street out front, check in at the 'office'..a counter wedged next to the kitchen in the very lively restaurant , got some work done on my laptop..free wireless; slept with the door to my private balcony open and enjoyed a great night's sleep with fresh air and a very comfortable bed; breakfast buffet with fresh warm scones ,granola, fresh fruit, wonderful coffee...had the restaurant to myself..wandered around and looked at all the photos and mementos of 80 years of continuous operation .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mangonboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed in August for 1 night. The rooms are in several different buildings closely arranged around a courtyard full of blooming plants. We were in Maria's Pueblo, which was comfortable and newly tastefully remodeled. The bed was very comfortable. Only drawback to room was proximity to the restaurant, so we were woken from a nap by loud restaurant patrons, but during the night it was quiet. My friends had Mimi's Bungalow, which was in the back and much much quieter. It was Thursday and there was great music in the restaurant (good food and service too). There was free buffet breakfast in the restaurant, but you had to get up somewhat early to get it, altho they were flexible as we arrived 5 minutes before the ending time and they didn't rush us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustSoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Wonderful hotel with the best staff who will go above and beyond to insure a quality stay. Historical home converted into a bed and breakfast and superior restaurant. Rooms very nicely furnished with all the amenities. Excellent location for sightseeing. The restaurant has superior food with a staff well versed in food and beverage selections. If in the area one must dine at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okayjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Panama Hotel. It was just what I was looking for, beautiful and relaxing. I liked having dinner and brunch at the restaurant downstairs. The food was so great, very satisfying. The honeymoon room was nice, the bear claw bath tub was a treat with the patio off to the side. The Panama is a cute and quiet place off the main drag in San Rafael.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
1.3 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
2.7 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Hotel

Property: Panama Hotel
Address: 4 Bayview St, San Rafael, CA 94901-4913
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing