We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very decent choice for price category!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marin Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Arcata, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very decent choice for price category!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for one night as an alternative to the very pricey SF hotels, it was easy to find and the room was clean and comfortable. As a guest, you can see some rooms are under renovation but that didn't impact our short stay. San Rafael is a nice community and the area where the hotel is located is semi residential but decent. We were offered complimentary water,soda, morning fare-muffins, fruit and good coffee. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AidiPotuchadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    100
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
50
121
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while visiting San Francisco. Short 30min or so drive and considerably cheaper than the hotels closer the city. Spacious rooms. Wifi worked well. Fridge and microwave. Took awhile to get hot water but otherwise showers had good pressure. Beautiful updates bathrooms and showers. Bed was comfortable. Quiet and safe. Aside from lacking a pool, we enjoyed our stay there. Highly recommend it if visiting the area and on a budget.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian_Goofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munford, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Convenient location to Napa. San Raphael is an awesome place to visit also. But due to recent renovations not everything in the room was functioning and there were no extra sheets or blankets even though the staff indicated there were. The staff, however, was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this location, since it is affordable and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed two nights. Clean rooms, easy parking in a crowded neighborhood. Good wifi, nice free water & sodas. Problems - plenty:

We wanted to pay cash, but they wouldn't take it. Said it would be an "accounting nightmare". Huh?

They didn't clean our room - even though we were gone all day.

Iron in room, but no ironing board.

Hot water problem. It took 4-5 minutes of running the water down the sink to get any hot water at all. What a waste!!!!! If they are going to sell rooms as a motel, they need to update the hot water system.

My husband said he would give it a B. I give it a C, and I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are back off the busy street so noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stitchadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Lodge is a few blocks away from downtown San Rafael and Hwy 101.. We weren't disappointed. Frrom the Inn we jumped on 101 for the guick drive to the Larksper Ferry and A&TT Park. Takes about 10 minutes back from the Ferry after it docks. Safe, clean, continental breakfast, friendly and affordable. Traffic noise from street was not an issue, but this is not your idea of a "country inn."

Room Tip: 15 or so rooms all ground level in "L" shape. Ours had 2 queen beds, bathroom (small, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This remodel is a great stop. The price is amazing and easy to get to. Great place to stay if going to the Muir Woods. The beds/pillows were great, large room with 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, a nice desk area. In the center of the motel 2 rooms are still being renovated. The breakfast was simple but good with muffins and fresh fruit. The hotel manager recommended a wonderful Puerto Rican restaurant, Sol Food. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 107, was a large room with 2 queen beds. Corner room so less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I find the other recent reviews accurate.

We were on our final-less-one day of our holiday and needed a bed for just one night before leaving late the next day from SF international airport.

We spent the day and lunched in Sausalito. Then, given our experience of. Given our experience of SF city hotels and their cost we moved further away from the city in search of accommodation. (I didn't feel like negotiating SF traffic and parking hassles).

We ended up in San Rafael and booked into the Marin ad-hoc early in the evening.

While we had no trouble getting that one room for the night, it was a weekday - while I was checking out the next day phone calls happened from people trying to make reservations and they were getting the 'sorry, full up' explanation.

The people are nice and friendly. Looked after us splendidly.

Our recently-renovated room was one of the best we've ever stayed in for such a reasonable rate. It was quiet and relatively peaceful - something else SF city hotels aren't reknowned for.

Sure, renovations were continuing around the reception area but this didn't detract from our stay.

I'd definitiely stay here again - and recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denboa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
1.9 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Lodge

Property: Marin Lodge
Address: 1735 Lincoln Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Marin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Rafael
Colonial Motel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing