We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican food”

Celia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 229 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went here on a Sunday evening and found a busy restaurant that was able to seat us right away. The chips are great and the salsa was a bit spicy. The waiter left us a pitcher of water which was appreciated. We just got a couple of combination platters, both of which were very good. I had a strawberry margarita that was surprisingly syrupy and not well-blended; I would not order one again in a future visit. It was also small and expensive, so that was the only downside of an otherwise fun experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've been going to Celia's for at least 30 years. A classic Mexican restaurant. No CalMex/artsy stuff. Just good food. The Cancun platter is great. A combo of chicken and shrimp, it is one of my faves. Any combo plate will leave you satisfied.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandinmytoes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classic Mexican-American food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is not a foo foo Marin restruant.
You get the basics here surved promptly and with a smile. Take your kids here let them have a good time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hansolo5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommeneded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Celia's. The food was good and so was the atmosphere. I usually don't like Mexican singers coming to my table, but the trio at Celia's were excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxfordtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Kid and Adult Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our group of five ranged in age from 66 to 8 and we all had a great time. Our waitress was most charming and engaging. Our granddaughter wished to pay for her own beverage and our waitress brought a check for the juice. Our granddaughter paid and included a generous tip. It was a wonderful start to a fine dinner. While my chili verde was nice and hot, it was tasteless. The rest of the party enjoyed their meals especially the seafood. The shrimp was clean and delicious. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Celia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing