We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommeneded”

Celia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 233 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommeneded”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Celia's. The food was good and so was the atmosphere. I usually don't like Mexican singers coming to my table, but the trio at Celia's were excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxfordtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Kid and Adult Friendly”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our group of five ranged in age from 66 to 8 and we all had a great time. Our waitress was most charming and engaging. Our granddaughter wished to pay for her own beverage and our waitress brought a check for the juice. Our granddaughter paid and included a generous tip. It was a wonderful start to a fine dinner. While my chili verde was nice and hot, it was tasteless. The rest of the party enjoyed their meals especially the seafood. The shrimp was clean and delicious. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistent, good food and lots of it”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been to many different locations for this restaurant chain in the Bay Area, but mostly we go to the San Rafael location as it is closest to our home. The food is always good and there is lots of it. The problem is the service. At the San Rafael location the service is either wonderful or poor. Case in point, my wife and I get the same thing each time. It can take 7 to 10 minutes to get the food to the table, after ordering. Monday it took a half hour. The place was not busy, the staff just wasnt willing to make an effort. We have had nothing but GREAT service at the other locations... As for the food, I highly recommend the Nachos, crispy cheese, combo platters and the Steak. My wife loves the Tostad Salad

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjcpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and of course great margaritas !!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I been in this restaurant many times ... Employees are great and so is there food ,,, highly recommend this restaurant if you any time you come to Marin county you should eat here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genasport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great, Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food is delicious! The atmosphere is fun and colorful. We have been going to this restaurant for over 30 years, and it just gets better with each visit. Everytime we are visiting family in the area, we go to this restaurant for dinner. Staff is so friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Celia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing