We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While definitely not fancy or even "upscale", this is definitely one of my favorites!”

Thai Smile Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 262 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 12, 2016

This is a good place for lunch. If you are in a hurry, you may need to remind the service provider, but they are responsive and pleasant about trying to please. Since having discovered their mild yellow curry seafood (whether or not its on the menu), I've never had any other entry.

There is both indoor and on-the-sidewalk dining, with service slightly better if seated inside.

Thai Smile's tends to get a little crowded right at lunchtime, but thins out quickly. Although there are certainly more "private" places to eat, for business discussions with a party of up to four, we have always found a table in the corner the sufficed.

This is essentially a "mom & pop" operation with all food prepared onsite and from fresh clean ingredients. Over the years, it has become a favorite.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveladdict2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2016

Had dinner at the Thai Smile Restaurant. We were there early and the only customers about 4:30. Started filling up before we left. Seemed like repeat customers. Food was good, service good, family owned.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank fwbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

Food cooked from high quality products, taste of meals is something unbelievable. Very friendly staff. Warm atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Яна Л
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

This is a family-run restaurant where they are familiar with regular customers, inquire about everyone's health, and make you feel exceptionally at home. There are not very many tables and there is a constant stream of take-out order pickups.
I had the Thai pumpkin curry, since it was around Halloween, and was pleased to see that they had used fresh pumpkin. It was really a treat and I took an extra order home to my husband.
Although this is a metered parking area, it's not too hard to find a space. You'll have to walk a couple of blocks to get to free parking. Thai Smile is within an easy 5-10 minute walk of the San Rafael Transit Center.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank N_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

When visiting family in San Rafael, we always dine at Thai Smile. The waitress recognized my relative, whom she hadn't seen for a while, and was so happy to see her. We all enjoyed our food (pad thai, yellow curry, and sweet and sour) a lot. The portions are good and the price is right. There is a small outdoor dining area in front if you want to eat outside.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KTBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Smile Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Thai Smile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing